Feb 15, 2013 at 11:19 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
in Doukutsu Assembler, right? sorry, I don't see a search button in there..
 
Feb 15, 2013 at 11:25 PM
Based Member
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 31, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2307
Age: 27
Feb 15, 2013 at 11:57 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
right..
CMP DWORD [npc.health (e_x+something, look into Noxid's list of defines)]

be more clear? I don't see a single e_x in any of the offsets themselves.
 
Feb 16, 2013 at 1:08 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
You have to substitute _ with d, c or a. So search for edx, ecx, and eax.
 
Feb 17, 2013 at 2:01 AM
Melon Lord
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Sep 20, 2011
Location: Rialto
Posts: 337
Age: 27
At the moment, I've noticed the Whimsical Stars only appear once a weapon has been fully leveled up to Max, and one star disappears if hit. Is there a way to remove the Level-Max requirement and the loss of a star upon hit?
 
Feb 17, 2013 at 3:56 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Assembly.
You'd have to remove the "remove star" code from the damage function or wherever the hell it is, and also keep it at level 3 whenever it's equipped.
 
Feb 19, 2013 at 9:54 PM
Been here way too long...
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Jan 21, 2007
Location:
Posts: 1111
Wondering if anyone knows off-hand how the following can be done:

- Make EXP frags ignore Tile44 by default

- Give a weapon other than the missile launcher either its own ammo drops or a shared ammo drop (if the ammo is under maximum, but not infinite)

(More to come as I feel greedy)
 
Feb 19, 2013 at 10:11 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I think these usually go in the quick answers thread..?
anyway I am pretty sure the first one isn't even a hack, just change npc.tbl
 
Feb 19, 2013 at 11:21 PM
Been here way too long...
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Jan 21, 2007
Location:
Posts: 1111
Tried that in Booster's Lab; no dice. (I wouldn't be asking if it already worked)

Okay I swear to god I did, and now on second checking it never actually saved that property. And now it did, and now it works fine. What.
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 3:51 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
Why isn't it possible to add new NPC's to cave story's exe?
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 3:52 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
It is, but you'd have to find room to put the code into and also write the actual NPC code.
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:06 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
MagicDoors said:
It is, but you'd have to find room to put the code into and also write the actual NPC code.
Ok, but i meant without deleting any functions. Is it possible to move all the assembly code in cave story to an exe with a bunch more memory addresses to make more space?
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:08 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Umm, no?
It would leave you with the exact same amount of space as you currently have in doukutsu.exe. You have to a) delete other NPCs/TSC commands/whatever or b) optimize.
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:13 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
MagicDoors said:
Umm, no?
It would leave you with the exact same amount of space as you currently have in doukutsu.exe. You have to a) delete other NPCs/TSC commands/whatever or b) optimize.
...how would it leave me with the same amount of space? On the other hand, It would be cool if pixel made an exe that has a ton more npc and tsc command space, but we all know THATS never going to happen.
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:15 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Copying all of the assembly code into a blank exe makes it an exact copy of the original, why would it have a different amount of space?
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:18 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
MagicDoors said:
Copying all of the assembly code into a blank exe makes it an exact copy of the original, why would it have a different amount of space?
I meant copying all of the code into an exe with a ton more memory addresses, so that it would be possible to add code to the extra blank memory addresses to add more npc's and stuff.
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:19 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
How do you plan on increasing an exe's memory storage capabilities?
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:19 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
That's not really how executable files work
It's a bit more complicated
 
Feb 20, 2013 at 4:25 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
Noxid said:
That's not really how executable files work
It's a bit more complicated
Ok? Would there still be a way to do something like that?
 
Top