Feb 2, 2011 at 12:27 AM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 31
Well, there would have to be some sacrifices made, like the fact that organya can only play 8 melody notes at a time for example.

I'm not too familiar with the midi format, and I'm busy with college and shit, so don't count on me doing this in the near future (or at all).
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 12:32 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
You can do it by hand, which requires opening up the midi in a midi editor like Anvil Studio (Or you could try to do it by ear).

Otherwise no.

Curses!
And I'm guessing just changing the file extension will corrupt it?
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 12:33 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
LunarSoul said:
Curses!
And I'm guessing just changing the file extension will corrupt it?

By definition it won't corrupt it: It just won't work.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 12:46 AM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 31
Changing a file extension has no effect on the actual data in the file.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 3:02 AM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Jan 21, 2011
Location:
Posts: 249
Noxid said:
Setting flag 0x0100 will cause an entity to run script on contact...

Damn. o_o I wish I'd known this sooner! This makes a few certain things a ton easier! :heart:
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 3:05 AM
Pirate Member
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jun 29, 2010
Location: Hills of Amber, Amh Araeng, Norvrandt, The First
Posts: 512
however, it has effects on how you open it, i.e. if i rename a .org to a .mp3, it still has all the data exactly the same, but Windows Media Player/WinAmp/whatever won't recognize the file as an mp3
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 3:12 AM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 31
Actually, if you explicitly tell it to open with the program you want, in most cases it will open just fine (like how Paint has no problem opening a *.pbm file; you just have to explicitly tell it to). Nonetheless, it is kinda annoying to have to tell it to do that, so yeah...
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 8:07 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jun 28, 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 205
Age: 34
Hey guys, just a simple problem here. In the tileset editor, on the right hand side, you can see your standard slopes. And some have green arrows and one i think doesnt. What i'd like to do is make a set of slopes with green arrows and one without. Because that way i can have background elements in one of the sets.

The problem is, i dont know how, or if its even possible to change the green arrow status which decides if an element is foreground or background.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 8:13 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
It's actually hard-coded, and such that I think the first two rows are background, second two are non-render and the rest are foreground. If you know how to use a hex editor I can give you the offsets for the arrays for slope types so you can add slopes to row two (I'm not sure why you'd want background slopes?) but otherwise yeah, probably can't change.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 8:17 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jun 28, 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 205
Age: 34
I havent used a hex editor before. The reason is i want to connect background details to the ground, in areas that arent always perfectly flat. Think "house on a steep hill". Right now the exterior of that "house" is in front of my character.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 8:31 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Well this should be fun then.


Code:
Bullets - 0x03BBD
---
---
---
---
00 09 00 00 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09
00 09 09 00 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 09 01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
Code:
Player - 0x18745
-- -- 00 1E 1E 01 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E
1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E
1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E
1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 01
02 01 1E 1E 01 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 0A 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 0B 0C
0D 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 0E 0F
10 11 12 13 14 15 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 16 17
18 19 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E
1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1E 1A 1B
1C 1D
Code:
Entity A - 0x71ADE
-- -- 00 01 02 01 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C
1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C
1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C
1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 01
1C 01 03 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 04 05
06 07 08 09 0A 0B 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 00 02
00 1C 02 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 0C 0D
0E 0F 10 11 12 13 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 14 15
16 17 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C
1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 1C 18 19
1A 1B
Code:
Entity B - 0x7392E
-- -- 00 13 13 01 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13
13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13
13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13
13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 01
13 01 02 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 0A 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 00 00
13 13 00 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 13 0B 0C
0D 0E 0F 10 11 12

Each of these byte arrays corresponds with the tile list, but there's a catch - the first item isn't tile 00. I think most are offset by two but I would just say look for patterns (i.e. the slope tiles for Player are 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A) and count backwards.

Now that I think of it maybe this is a little advanced >_>
Oh and there's a problem; bullets don't interact with any tile below 40, so you'd need more heavy-duty hax to make those collide.

Sorry.
 
Feb 2, 2011 at 8:37 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jun 28, 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 205
Age: 34
Thats...Honestly pretty terrifying... Uh i'll have to work around this i'm afraid, i dont think i could figure that out right now. Maybe a newer version of cave editor could have a little green arrow option? 0.0;;

But yeah, thanks for explaining, pretty dang sure i cant do this and that i'd probably cause more problems than i solved.
 
Feb 3, 2011 at 2:43 AM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 30
Since blocks 1 through 39 are background and non solid, and 40 through whatever are foreground, can't you edit it so the last two rows to check for contact with bullets and be forground? Because I belive Noxid said the game would only do bullet collisions if the value was above 40. It would still be a big hack, but not as big. Something new for people to use. I know that I've wanted those types of tiles at certain points.
 
Feb 3, 2011 at 2:45 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Well all check collision with tile bullets are already foreground, and we wanted background is the thing.
 
Feb 3, 2011 at 3:18 AM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Jan 21, 2011
Location:
Posts: 249
Noxid said:
It's actually hard-coded, and such that I think the first two rows are background, second two are non-render and the rest are foreground. If you know how to use a hex editor I can give you the offsets for the arrays for slope types so you can add slopes to row two (I'm not sure why you'd want background slopes?) but otherwise yeah, probably can't change.

I wouldn't mind seeing some collision fixes for quote and individual slices of a slope suspended in the air. IE: the quirky ways he'll teleport ontop of a piece, for instance. Actually it's rather amusing if you use one of the larger upside down pieces. He'll pop through like he'll stand, but then he'll fall through again. Sometimes even popping back up again.
 
Feb 3, 2011 at 3:25 AM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 30
I think I may have typed that wrong. I know that you guys want slopes that go behind the character instead of in front. What I'm suggesting is that you make the last two rows display as background, because The tiles values are above 40, they should do collision chechs for bullets.
 
Feb 3, 2011 at 3:34 AM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 30
While we're on the subject. We should totally make Super Mario World tiles. Tiles that are background, and only solid on the top. Ii think there was an entity like this in Cave Story. It was the moving platforms from the Ballos fight.
 
Feb 4, 2011 at 4:06 AM
In front of a computer
"Man, if only I had an apple..."
Join Date: Mar 1, 2008
Location: Grasstown
Posts: 1435
DoubleThink said:
Move'd.

Thanks for bringing this up; minimum search length has now been reduced to 3 characters. Hopefully that doesn't end up breaking the database :muscledoc:

EDIT: Although it doesn't seem to be making much difference :/
Maybe you also need to tell the forum to re-index all posts?

Lace said:
In troth, noxid, I want you to dye.
Dye what? His hair? His shirt?

Shadow Major said:
What are the ways to pause the Nikamaru Counter?
Did this question get missed? It looks like it did, but I might just be imagining things. <_<
 
Feb 4, 2011 at 4:17 AM
Pirate Member
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jun 29, 2010
Location: Hills of Amber, Amh Araeng, Norvrandt, The First
Posts: 512
hmm... pause the counter... run an event.
i dunno if a <KEY/<PRI is needed to pause it, or if you can just start an event and <WAI for the time you want it paused or something.

also, Lace meant dye as in die. read the previous couple posts and you might get the joke this time :muscledoc:
 
Feb 4, 2011 at 5:07 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Oct 30, 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 112
Age: 28
Celtic Minstrel said:
Did this question get missed? It looks like it did, but I might just be imagining things. <_<

There were no answers, but by then I already had it all figured out anyway. However, my question about the flag details for the weapons hasn't been answered yet :muscledoc:.
 
Top