May 25, 2013 at 2:41 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
Er no isn't it actually easier to change it in assembly
As long as you know what to change it's easier, at least

Code:
CPU Disasm
Address   Hex dump          Command                                  Comments
00419935  |> \6A 01         PUSH 1                                   ; /Arg2 = 1
00419937  |.  6A 10         PUSH 10                                  ; |Arg1 = 10
00419939  |.  E8 026D0000   CALL 00420640                            ; \Amamichi.00420640
Change PUSH 10 to a different number. Remember to convert to hex first (PUSH 10 plays sound 16).
 
May 25, 2013 at 3:20 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
MagicDoors said:
Er no isn't it actually easier to change it in assembly
As long as you know what to change it's easier, at least


CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
00419935 |> \6A 01 PUSH 1 ; /Arg2 = 1
00419937 |. 6A 10 PUSH 10 ; |Arg1 = 10
00419939 |. E8 026D0000 CALL 00420640 ; \Amamichi.00420640

Change PUSH 10 to a different number. Remember to convert to hex first (PUSH 10 plays sound 16).
Thank you, it's works. :D



New Question:


I need to give King a teleport in/out command.


Where do I place the call command? And from what address?
 
May 25, 2013 at 4:21 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 14, 2012
Location:
Posts: 167
I edit the original cave story to make a mod. When I play it after the game stays the same. UN-Edited.
 
May 25, 2013 at 4:24 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
Maybe you should save your work
 
May 25, 2013 at 4:30 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 14, 2012
Location:
Posts: 167
May 25, 2013 at 4:37 PM
Giving it my all and shooting for the moon.
Modding Community Discord Admin
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: In a cave above the surface.
Posts: 1040
Age: 24
It's always good to give more information. Like what program your using, what your editing, ETC.
 
May 25, 2013 at 4:39 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 14, 2012
Location:
Posts: 167
I am using Cave editor.
 
May 25, 2013 at 4:44 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
fadoink said:
I edit the original cave story to make a mod. When I play it after the game stays the same. UN-Edited.
You most likely forgot to disable the read-only status form the files.

right click on doukustu > properties > unckeck the read only box

do the same to the data folder.
 
May 25, 2013 at 5:23 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 14, 2012
Location:
Posts: 167
How to I make a track I made from Orgmaker repeat after it is over.
 
May 26, 2013 at 1:15 AM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
fadoink said:
How to I make a track I made from Orgmaker repeat after it is over.
Go under settings > Song setup > Repeat range.

your welcome. :mahin:

Ok, I'm a jerk, how do I change the x/y location of the title screen picture?



and the x/y where quote walks as well.
 
May 26, 2013 at 6:32 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: May 21, 2013
Location: Online
Posts: 54
Age: 24
So, I was making a mod using Cave Editor (not Sue's Workshop) and then the Doukutsu.exe quit working and says it is not a valid Win32 application. This was right after I made the 102nd map, which said it was corrupted, so I removed it. Now it opens in Cave Editor, but the exe file no longer works. Help?
 
May 26, 2013 at 6:39 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Oct 29, 2012
Location: England
Posts: 178
Age: 24
You will have to use a fresh Doukutsu.exe, the same thing happened to me, luckily I had a backup just before I added the new map that broke the game.
 
May 26, 2013 at 6:44 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Don't use the new map button.
 
May 26, 2013 at 8:41 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
how do I fix this?

I cannot change the X/Y location of the sprite on the title screen. seriously, It's driving me bonkers.

Here is what the code looks like.



CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
0040F9B0 /$ 55 PUSH EBP
0040F9B1 |. 8BEC MOV EBP,ESP
0040F9B3 |. 81EC F0010000 SUB ESP,1F0
0040F9B9 |. C745 E0 00000 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-20],0
0040F9C0 |. C745 E4 00000 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-1C],0
0040F9C7 |. C745 E8 70020 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-18],270
0040F9CE |. C745 EC 80020 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-14],280
0040F9D5 |. C785 ECFEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-114],0
0040F9DF |. C785 F0FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-110],0
0040F9E9 |. C785 F4FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-10C],0A0
0040F9F3 |. C785 F8FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-108],10
0040F9FD |. C785 10FFFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-0F0],90
 
May 26, 2013 at 8:44 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
what attached file
 
May 26, 2013 at 8:47 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
MagicDoors said:
what attached file
It didn't attach, so I pulled olldybg and wrote the coding out.
 
May 26, 2013 at 9:22 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: May 24, 2013
Location: anywhere near video games
Posts: 75
Age: 21
Okay, I have a problem with the fog background. Can anyone tell me [if where] where there is any portion of the 431 page long forum that has stuff about the fog background?
 
May 26, 2013 at 10:53 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
A Gamer said:
Okay, I have a problem with the fog background. Can anyone tell me [if where] where there is any portion of the 431 page long forum that has stuff about the fog background?
It depends on what your trying to do, If you want to change the Parallax scrolling you need to go to
*somwhere* in the exe and edit it. (using assembly)

If the background is just not showing correctly, you need to (assuming your using Cave Editor)
go under map settings > properties > scroll type. Change it to scrolling
 
May 27, 2013 at 4:53 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 30
Bombchu Link said:
how do I fix this?

I cannot change the X/Y location of the sprite on the title screen. seriously, It's driving me bonkers.

Here is what the code looks like.



CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
0040F9B0 /$ 55 PUSH EBP
0040F9B1 |. 8BEC MOV EBP,ESP
0040F9B3 |. 81EC F0010000 SUB ESP,1F0
0040F9B9 |. C745 E0 00000 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-20],0
0040F9C0 |. C745 E4 00000 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-1C],0
0040F9C7 |. C745 E8 70020 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-18],270
0040F9CE |. C745 EC 80020 MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-14],280
0040F9D5 |. C785 ECFEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-114],0
0040F9DF |. C785 F0FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-110],0
0040F9E9 |. C785 F4FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-10C],0A0
0040F9F3 |. C785 F8FEFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-108],10
0040F9FD |. C785 10FFFFFF MOV DWORD PTR SS:[EBP-0F0],90
That's where the frame rects are declared. You need to find where the image itself is drawn, it's a function call somewhere later in the code. It will push 2 values, the x and y coords you're looking for.

Happy hunting.
 
May 27, 2013 at 2:08 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: May 24, 2013
Location: anywhere near video games
Posts: 75
Age: 21
Bombchu Link said:
It depends on what your trying to do, If you want to change the Parallax scrolling you need to go to
*somwhere* in the exe and edit it. (using assembly)

If the background is just not showing correctly, you need to (assuming your using Cave Editor)
go under map settings > properties > scroll type. Change it to scrolling
Oh, actually, it's something totally different. A glitch that only happens when I use the fog background. The actual background works, but the darn game only scrolles at a rate of 1 colum and/or row per second. I have absolutly no Idea why.
 
Top