Jun 8, 2020 at 4:34 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
Hi, I've searched but I'm still confused as to what are Option 1 and Option 2 in the entity flags in Cave Editor. Do they control what direction the entity is facing? Do they make the trigger horizontal or vertical? I have no idea >n<
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:13 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
They do various things. In Booster's Lab they would be the called“Spawn with alt direct option”. Anyway, let's take a H/V trigger for example: it's set up to be horizontal by default, BUT if you use option 2 it'll become a vertical trigger. Very cool. By the way, the ultimate editor is Booster's Lab, so if I were you I would use that one.
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:16 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
oh, I see! What else can they do?
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:21 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
As you mentioned they can also change the direction of entities and such, but I'm pretty sure they have many, MANY other functions regarding other types of entities.
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:21 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
okay, thank you very much!
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:33 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2644
Age: 27
Yeah, Option 1 and Option 2 are dumb names.

Here's the entity flag names used in Booster's Lab for reference (I initially thought those can just be plugged into the CaveEditor.txt file for Cave Editor, but there's defines for them in there, hacking may need to be required).
Code:
0x0001 Solid (bouncy sides)
0x0002 Not Affected By Tile44
0x0004 Invulnerable
0x0008 Ignore Solid
0x0010 Bouncy Top
0x0020 Shootable
0x0040 Solid (hard sides)
0x0080 Rear and top no damage
0x0100 Run event on contact
0x0200 Run event on death
0x0400 (Unused)
0x0800 Appear once flagID set
0x1000 Spawn with alt direction
0x2000 Interactable
0x4000 No Appear if flagID set
0x8000 Show Damage #
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 5:50 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
ooh, ok. Thanks!
 
Jun 8, 2020 at 7:30 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2644
Age: 27
Okay, I've made a modded version that fixes the Entity Flag dialog in both the map editor and in npc.tbl, so there won't be anymore further confusion between Cave Editor users and Booster's Lab users.
Download
drwqyk.png
f2dbfl.png
 
Jun 14, 2020 at 11:32 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
Hello, I'm having problems with my mod. To me it works fine but to others not. According to the error log, PrtCave.bmp and NpcSym.bmp are returning 1 instead of 0. The characteristic these two share is that I edited them with GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program), but I've also edited PrtMimi.bmp with GIMP and this file still returns 0. I'm using CEditor and not using CSE2. I have also actually used the edited tiles of PrtCave and NpcSym in maps, but not the edited tiles of PrtMimi. Here's the download link.
 
Jun 15, 2020 at 12:05 AM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2644
Age: 27
The characteristic these two share is that I edited them with GIMP
Ahah, here's the problem. You using GIMP! You know what they say, all toasters toast toast!

I'd suggest any other image editing software, GIMP is always the source to "my Cave Story bitmaps are broken!". Paint.NET, FireAlpaca, or Aseprite are often recommended.
 
Jun 15, 2020 at 12:06 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
Ahah, here's the problem. You using GIMP! You know what they say, all toasters toast toast!

I'd suggest any other image editing software, GIMP is always the source to "my Cave Story bitmaps are broken!". Paint.NET, FireAlpaca, or Aseprite are often recommended.
ah ;-; that's a pity, I love GIMP.
Thank you very much!
 
Jun 15, 2020 at 5:09 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 29, 2020
Location: 18th century Vienna
Posts: 17
Booster's Lab is giving me a headache because apparently it has something against Ubuntu users.
czemf0tbk3551.png
awgc5zsbk3551.png
ik it's like my third question in a row but i am Mildly Frustrated, can someone help please?

Edit: Thanks to the modding discord community I was able to solve the problem!
 
Last edited:
Jun 25, 2020 at 3:05 AM
Junior Member
"Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
Join Date: Jun 13, 2020
Location: Brazil
Posts: 22
How you edit the credits?
 
Jun 25, 2020 at 3:12 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: May 31, 2018
Location: under your bed ;)
Posts: 185
Age: 20
...i'm not sure why you're asking here, on a long dead thread for my kinda mediocre first mod of all places, but yeah. booster's lab's help section has a guide on how to edit the credits, it's not that tricky once you get the hang of it.
 
Jun 26, 2020 at 1:54 AM
Junior Member
"Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
Join Date: Jun 13, 2020
Location: Brazil
Posts: 22
There's a guide for that in Booster's Lab.
I will try another time, make the Booster's Lab work.

EDIT: I got it, thanks!
 
Last edited:
Jun 28, 2020 at 2:27 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
So regarding Entity #20 (Computer), it has 3 different sprites that I redesigned for the Mechanto Gate in Gun v2. So considering that Entity #20 has 3 different sprites, can you switch between them with ANP?
 
Jun 28, 2020 at 6:29 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2644
Age: 27
So regarding Entity #20 (Computer), it has 3 different sprites that I redesigned for the Mechanto Gate in Gun v2. So considering that Entity #20 has 3 different sprites, can you switch between them with ANP?
Probably not. Especially when the computer entity doesn't have an animation table of it's own. You'll have to write one in with ASM.
 
Jun 29, 2020 at 10:41 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
Probably not. Especially when the computer entity doesn't have an animation table of it's own. You'll have to write one in with ASM.
If that's the case, then I'm under the mistaken assumption that the computer sprite is animated considering it has 3 sprites. So what are the three sprites actually used for?
TCbCrKW.png
5JFtyr6.png
 
Jun 29, 2020 at 4:24 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2644
Age: 27
Looking into the assembly, the sprites are all looped depending on direction. One just happens to be in a one frame animation and one happens to be in a two frame animation. However, neither are dependent on <ANP, nor is there code like JMP DWORD [E_X*4+4XXXXX] in the NPC. There isn't even an animation table at the end, the code just jumps straight to NPC 021.
vdmqj8.png
 
Top