Dec 17, 2011 at 3:35 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Aug 10, 2011
Location:
Posts: 222
Re: Noob In need of some advice about basic modding..

You should ask these questions here
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 12:59 AM
LSD
"..."
Join Date: Jun 2, 2011
Location:
Posts: 397
Age: 25
I have a few questions~

It'll obviously be complex, but how do you change the message at the beginning of CS (Studio Pixel presents...) to whatever you want?

How do you change the texture of the [SN] blocks? (Pre-shot and post-shot)

How can you add a new picture (i.e. a new Background) into the Data? Well, that's easy, but how do you get it to work?

Many thanks.


-~-


Answers for RPettan

RPettan said:
My questions:

1: How does one place an existing enemy NPC in a map, (what are the necessary flags, events and entity ID's to make an enemy actually do as its supposed to and show up in a map.) Example: Making a bat move up and down, or making an enemy move, or making the enemy entity show up at all

Welcome:debug:
I first suggest using Cave Editor. Much easier than Sue's Workshop and Miza in my opinion.
In Cave Editor, find a spot, make sure you have it on Entitie Editor, and right click. Click 'Add Entitie.' Up at the top, go through the items in the Drop Menu until you find the one you want, and click it. Most will act already (i.e. the Bat,) but some you need to use the <ANP function for in the script editor. Just make sure you have the right sprite set. (The Bats is NpcCemet)

RPettan said:
2: How do I create doors that lead the character to another map.

It's quite easy. Make an entitie, don't change anything in the drop menu, you want it to be 'Nothing.' Change the flags to be 2000 (Run script on Interaction) and change the Event to a corresponding event in the script. Go into the script editor. Make an event (the same number as your entitie.) If you don't know how, it's #XXXX where XXXX is a 4 digit number (0096, 0406, 1132) that is bigger than 0079.)) Normally you would do this-
Code:
#XXXX
<PRI<FAOXXXX
<TRAXXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ:WWWW

#XXXX
Event

<PRI
Freezes the game and hides HUD

<FAOXXXX
XXXX is direction. Play around with this.

<TRAXXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ:WWWW
Transports player to another map
XXXX is 4 digit map number
YYYY is 4 digit event to run apon entry to map
ZZZZ is 4 digit X coordinate to transport to
WWWW is 4 digit Y coordinate to transport to

That should be it.

RPettan said:
3: How do I script or make a chest give you an item.


Please, remember i'm a beginner to this, so please try to be patient and understanding.

Thank you. :)

Oh dear.
I can't make chests work, but Scripts to give you things are kind of easy.
Code:
<PRI<MSGSomething gleams in the dirt...<NOD<CLR<CMU0010<GIT10XX<IT+00XXGot the =Silver Locket=.<WAI0160<NOD<CLO<END

<MSG
Puts a message on the screen.

<NOD
Freezes script until player presses a button

<CLR
Clears message box

<CMU0010
Changes music to Get Item music

<GIT10XX<IT+00XX
<GIT shows an image on the screen on an item
<IT+ gives you that item
XX is 2 digit item code

<WAI0160
This is the time it take for the music to time out

<NOD<CLO
Waits for keyboard input, then closes message box

<END
Ends the script

Put that under an event. Make an entitie, give it the 2000 flag, and put in that event.
That should be it.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 5:22 AM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3054
1: change the map name from u (kings) to "Pigaro Presents" or whatever. then use MNA in the opening script.
2: the star block texture (in npcsym) is drawn on top of the map tile for sn. If you make it transparent then the map will govern that. when destroyed, sn blocks shift one to their left, so you can do whatever with that as well.
3: you won't be able to do this unless you understand assembly.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 7:22 AM
Been here way too long...
Discord Group Admin
Org Discord Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
Location:
Posts: 2337
Lace said:
3: you won't be able to do this unless you understand assembly.

That's not true at all. He was asking about backgrouds. At the very most, you'll need a hex editor, but you probably removed the C Pixel requirement so that won't be necessary. If you haven't I suggest you do. Anyway, you just take the image, make it a bitmap, if necessary rebame file extension to .pbm, and rename the image to bk[whatever].pbm/bmp. Make sure the whatever is capitalised.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 5:03 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3054
Huh. I guess you're right.
I couldn't recall if cs automatically added backgrounds or not.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 5:56 PM
In front of a computer
"Man, if only I had an apple..."
Join Date: Mar 1, 2008
Location: Grasstown
Posts: 1435
Noxid said:
because I actually made IDA decompile it and then I just filled in the names of functions / variables to make it a bit more human-readable.
I have found doing the whole thing by hand to be not only more time-consuming, but also more likely to introduce errors.
Ah I see, makes sense.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 6:25 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
how do I add more colors to an npc pbm/stage pbm without having to rename it? cause now I cant, I had a system update months ago and the .pbm wouldn't appear right next to the name where I can rename it anymore.
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 6:27 PM
Only Love, Maximum Love, Forever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 6, 2009
Location: somewhere new
Posts: 2137
Age: 29
You can't, just rename it .bmp.
IT'S THE ONLY WAY
 
Dec 26, 2011 at 10:10 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3054
Dec 28, 2011 at 12:59 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 7, 2011
Location: Australia. In Bob Katter's secret techno-dungeon.
Posts: 206
Age: 32
Um... Don't you just go into folder options and untick 'hide extensions'?
 
Dec 28, 2011 at 2:46 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Only a doof would change the extension on his files by hand every time he wanted to modify them
 
Dec 28, 2011 at 2:50 AM
LSD
"..."
Join Date: Jun 2, 2011
Location:
Posts: 397
Age: 25
Noxid said:
Only a doof would change the extension on his files by hand every time he wanted to modify them

I'm sorry Noxid :(
 
Dec 28, 2011 at 3:00 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
The important thing is to learn from your mistakes and follow the One True Way
 
Jan 6, 2012 at 11:25 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jul 30, 2011
Location: Alaska aka Ice Hell
Posts: 39
Age: 26
How can I make a health pack disappear after it's use in Sue's Workshop?
 
Jan 6, 2012 at 11:31 PM
Been here way too long...
Discord Group Admin
Org Discord Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
Location:
Posts: 2337
First, set the Health Capsule's Flag ID (Not it's flags) to, say, 2000. Then, change it's flags and check the flag "Disappear when Flag ID is set". Then, in the script editor, after your script for the Life Capsule, but before the <END, put in <FL+2000. The Life Capsule should disappear after it is obtained.
 
Jan 8, 2012 at 4:10 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 7, 2011
Location: Australia. In Bob Katter's secret techno-dungeon.
Posts: 206
Age: 32
Cave Editor makes me want to burn my computer with fire. Any editor that can't offset the maps file properly, causing blank backgrounds, deserves to die.
 
Jan 8, 2012 at 4:14 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 31
You must not be using the latest version then.
 
Jan 8, 2012 at 4:14 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Stop using the outdated version then?

I'm preeettty sure 99d or whatever the last one was fixed that issue. It can't revive a corrupt exe on its own, but it at least might not cause more problems.
 
Jan 8, 2012 at 4:23 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 7, 2011
Location: Australia. In Bob Katter's secret techno-dungeon.
Posts: 206
Age: 32
I'm pretty sure I'm running 99d. I downloaded the latest version about a month ago. That bug drove me up the wall, so now I'm just plugging away with Sue's Workshop.

FYI, those who don't know, the bug corrupts the maps file slightly, requiring you to break out the hex editor and rejig the offsets EVERY TIME YOU CHANGE A BACKGROUND. It gets painful, fast.
 
Jan 8, 2012 at 10:22 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jul 30, 2011
Location: Alaska aka Ice Hell
Posts: 39
Age: 26
Dunc2403 said:
First, set the Health Capsule's Flag ID (Not it's flags) to, say, 2000. Then, change it's flags and check the flag "Disappear when Flag ID is set". Then, in the script editor, after your script for the Life Capsule, but before the <END, put in <FL+2000. The Life Capsule should disappear after it is obtained.
It still isn't working for me...
 
Top