Sep 29, 2010 at 10:36 PM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 304
Fake tile help

Sorry if this was posted before, but I could not find it after extensive searching. Is there any way to make tiles that you can walk through in cave editor? I was planning on making an easter egg sort of room, so I would use those as part of the wall leading to the room. Please don't just post "I dunno" and I am sorry again if someone else posted this.
 
Sep 29, 2010 at 10:48 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Just set a tile to be type 40 in the tileset editor of CE; it'll be foreground, and you can walk through it. And remember, the Quick Answers thread is your friend.
 
Sep 30, 2010 at 2:48 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 304
*Facepalm* Thanks for catching that, can't believe I forgot.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:25 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
For a mod I'm making, I'm making a submarine level, and in that level, you have different weapons than you normally do. I'm having trouble with the scripts to exchange weapons to and from the submarine set. The idea is that it checks for each weapon you could possibly have, and for each one, takes it, and sets a flag. Then, when you get out of the submarine, it checks, one by one, for each of those flags. For each one that had been set, it restores the corresponding weapon. So far, I can't seem to get the part that restores the weapons (#500-514) to work. When run, it removes the weapons that the player had in the sub, so I know that #500 is running, at the very least. #100-113 are the ones that take the weapons, and 114 adds the submarine weapons. Anybody know why this isn't working right?
Code:
#0100
<KEY<MM0<NCJ0000:0500<WAI0005<MOV0011:0011<CNP0101:0000:0000<UNI0001<MYD0002
<AMJ0001:0101<AMJ0002:0102<AMJ0003:0103<AMJ0004:0104<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0101
<FL+0401<AM-0001<AMJ0002:0102<AMJ0003:0103<AMJ0004:0104<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0102
<FL+0402<AM-0002<AMJ0003:0103<AMJ0004:0104<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0103
<FL+0403<AM-0003<AMJ0004:0104<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0104
<FL+0404<AM-0004<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0105
<FL+0405<AM-0005<AMJ0006:0106
<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0106
<FL+0406<AM-0006<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0107
<FL+0407<AM-0007<AMJ0009:0109<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0109
<FL+0409<AM-0009<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0100
<FL+0410<AM-0010<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0111
<FL+0411<AM-0011<AMJ0012:0112
<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0112
<FL+0412<AM-0012<AMJ0013:0113
<EVE0114<END
#0113
<FL+0413<AM-0013<EVE0114<END
#0114
<AM+0005:0012<AM+0004:0100<END

#0500
<AM-0004<AM-0005<FLJ0401:0501<FLJ0402:0502<FLJ0403:0503<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0501<AM+0001:0000<FL-0401<FLJ0402:0502<FLJ0403:0503<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0502<AM+0002:0000<FL-0402<FLJ0403:0503<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0503<AM+0003:0000<FL-0403<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505<FLJ0406:0506
<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0504<AM+0004:0000<FL-0404<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0505<AM+0005:0000<FL-0405<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0506<AM+0006:0000<FL-0406<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0507<AM+0007:0000<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0509<AM+0009:0000<FL-0409<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0510<AM+0010:0000<FL-0410<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0511<AM+0011:0000<FL-0411<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0512<AM+0012:0000<FL-0412<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
#0513<AM+0013:0000<FL-0413<EVE0514
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:30 AM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 31
You need a newline after each event number.

For example, change
Code:
#0501<AM+0001:0000<FL-0401<FLJ0402:0502<FLJ0403:0503<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
to
Code:
#0501
<AM+0001:0000<FL-0401<FLJ0402:0502<FLJ0403:0503<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0406:0506<FLJ0407:0507<FLJ0409:0509<FLJ0410:0510
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514
and do the same for the rest of the events.

Also, you don't need <END after <EVE. Having it won't hurt, but you don't need it.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:31 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Um, if the Remove Weapons scripts are getting run, why not use <TAM in place of <AM-?
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:33 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
Wow. Very quick, very helpful. Thanks. And Noxid, yeah, I considered that, but seeing as there's no real knowing for sure what weapons the player would have at that point, I decided to play it safe with AM+ and AM-
Thanks Wedge!
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:43 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
What about something like...

Code:
#0100
<AMJ0001:0200<AMJ0002:0201<AMJ0003:0202<AMJ0004:0203<END

#0200
<TAM0001:0005:0000<EVE0100

#0201
<TAM0002:0006:0000<EVE0100

#0202
<TAM0003:0007:0000<EVE0100

#0203
<TAM0004:0008:0000<EVE0100

And with that for each 'old weapon' (1,2,3,4) it will be replaced with a 'new weapon' (5,6,7,8). I don't know for sure, I'm just guessing and I'm awful at TSC but you seem to have a lot of script for what should be a fairly simple action.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:46 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
Yeah, but he could have one, two, five, etc weapons to start with, depending on what point in the game it's at, and they might be different weapons. The weapons he has in the submarine, however, will always be the same two. And yeah, it is a lot of code. There's probably a faster and easier way that I've overlooked, but it's my first venture into the world of CS modding. And it works! :D

Blatant promotion for the game: The boss of the submarine level is the twins, except set underwater. And resprited as giant electric anglerfish.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 12:53 AM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 31
Sounds nifty, looking forwards! :D

And yeah your way is how I would have done it. Having the unconditional <AM+/- for the two submarine weapons allows the other ones to be coded "symmetrically" (i.e. you can just copypasta the code for one and modify a few numbers; you don't have to have special code for the two submarine weapons).
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:12 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Nuuu I can make it better! I swear!

Code:
#0099
<KEY<MM0<NCJ0000:0500<WAI0005<MOV0011:0011<CNP0101:0000:0000<UNI0001<MYD0002<EVE0100

#0100
<AMJ0001:0101<AMJ0002:0102<AMJ0003:0103<AMJ0004:0104
<AMJ0005:0105<AMJ0006:0106<AMJ0007:0107<AMJ0009:0109
<AMJ0010:0110<AMJ0011:0111<AMJ0012:0112<AM+0005:0012<AM+0004:0100<END

#0101
<AM-0001<FL+0401<EVE0100
#0102
<AM-0002<FL+0402<EVE0100
#0103
<AM-0003<FL+0403<EVE0100
#0104
<AM-0004<FL+0404<EVE0100
#0105
<AM-0005<FL+0405<EVE0100
#0106
<AM-0006<FL+0406<EVE0100
#0107
<AM-0007<FL+0407<EVE0100
#0109
<AM-0009<FL+0409<EVE0100
#0110
<AM-0010<FL+0410<EVE0100
#0111
<AM-0011<FL+0411<EVE0100
#0112
<AM-0012<FL+0412<EVE0100

#0499
<AM-0004<AM-0005<EVE0500

#0500
<FLJ0401:0501<FLJ0402:0502<FLJ0403:0503
<FLJ0404:0504<FLJ0405:0505
<FLJ0411:0511<FLJ0412:0512<FLJ0413:0513<EVE0514

#0501
<AM+0001:0000<FL-0401<EVE0500
#0502
<AM+0002:0000<FL-0402<EVE0500
#0503
<AM+0003:0000<FL-0403<EVE0500
#0504
<AM+0004:0000<FL-0404<EVE0500
#0505
<AM+0005:0000<FL-0405<EVE0500
#0506
<AM+0006:0000<FL-0406<EVE0500
#0507
<AM+0007:0000<FL-0407<EVE0500
#0509
<AM+0009:0000<FL-0409<EVE0500
#0510
<AM+0010:0000<FL-0410<EVE0500
#0511
<AM+0011:0000<FL-0411<EVE0500
#0512
<AM+0012:0000<FL-0412<EVE0500

I'm pretty sure that's functionally equivalent to what you had, but uses less characters. 0099 removes weapons 0499 replaces weapons.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:14 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
Yep. You've improved it. Can't believe I didn't see that. *Facepalm*
A cookie for you, Noxxie.

Anyway, thanks, both of you.
Next order of business: entity #196: Motion Wall!
What's up with it? Does it require some arcane map size or event in order to run? When I put them in a map, only the ones at the far right side of the screen appear.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:39 AM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 84
Age: 27
I had just a touch of free time, so I finally got around to replacing the icons for my mod. The .EXE has no problem whatsoever, but when I changed the icon for Config, it only changed a portion of it somehow.
I mean, I can only see the changed icon in anything below 3/4ths of the way from "Small Icons" to "Medium Icons", and when I make a shortcut for Config, it shows up as the original Config icon.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:41 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
Hmm.. How did you replace the icon? And did you try doing it again afterwards? Maybe refresh?

Also, since it's a new page now, I'd like to call attention to my previous question about motion walls, in case anybody has an answer.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:43 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I don't know much about Motion Wall, other than I accidentaly overwrote it thinking it was the busted scooter and that it's from the IronHead fight.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:53 AM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 84
Age: 27
Well, isn't this just dandy...

There's nothing wrong with the icon, but my computer puts the old icon in if the name is "Config".

I changed it to "bob" and it worked perfectly...
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 1:57 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Sometimes the computer doesn't update the stuff until you do something with it or restart.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 2:24 AM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 84
Age: 27
Stupid Windows 7. >.<
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 2:36 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
adark said:
Stupid Windows 7. >.<

Nah, windows XP does this too. I suspect it's partly ResHacker's problem, or perhaps not.
 
Oct 1, 2010 at 2:40 AM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 30
adark said:
Stupid Windows 7. >.<

Don't listen to them!
Windows 7 has major problems.
Have you tried recording audio with it?
They broke the rercording program.
 
Top