Oct 7, 2018 at 2:10 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
yeah half the reason I wrote booster's lab is because cave editor is terrifying
but feel free to try!
 
Oct 14, 2018 at 1:14 AM
beep boop
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Aug 16, 2014
Location: no
Posts: 844
Age: 21
Hey, how would I print out to the text box from assembly / c? Is there a specific function for it, or would I have to do some weird memory allocation with the tsc parser?
 
Oct 14, 2018 at 2:59 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Oct 13, 2018
Location:
Posts: 4
Age: 18
Hey.
I was thinking about custom animations for the game.
I hope there is some way to do this.
Examples: Custom idle animations and new walking sprites.
 
Oct 14, 2018 at 4:04 AM
Soup Man
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: IN YOUR HEAD, SHIT FOR BRAINS
Posts: 670
Age: 5
Oct 14, 2018 at 6:31 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 25
If you want to code the player's physics from scratch you have a few different options:

#1 Build it yourself
I've done this on a few occasions, this is one of the more.... difficult ways to go about it but it works and you have full control. Since pixels code is optimized you should have plenty of room to add what you want in the allotted space. I DID have a copy of the player physics in DouA format, but I'd suggest not using it because I modded the hell out of it and never kept a vanilla backup (oops).

#2 Use SIM's Player Size hack.
This is a bit more simple overall than rebuilding the code in x86 yourself, but is a lot more limited. You can change what frames are linked to what, like how many walk frames you have ect. but that's it really. If you're not much for code then check it out at the very least. It's in the latest version of Booster's Lab (I think) but if not you can get it in Enlight's Haxinator folder.

#3 Take CSr/(cucky's)CSe code and run it in a .dll and make changes that way.
It will allow you to take the code in C instead of x86, but it's fairly technical to setup and I haven't actually done this method of code injection before. Once it's setup though it's the easiest to work with provided you know C instead of x86 instead.
 
Oct 21, 2018 at 4:41 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Nov 30, 2017
Location:
Posts: 39
Age: 21
So you all know my mod and how I got mrdestroyer to edit Quote in the credits. Only one problem....I don't know how to change it. Can you guys help?
 
Oct 21, 2018 at 5:47 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2645
Age: 27
So you all know my mod and how I got mrdestroyer to edit Quote in the credits. Only one problem....I don't know how to change it. Can you guys help?
There's a tutorial for that included in Booster's Lab, if you wanna check that out
 
Oct 29, 2018 at 12:20 AM
Soup Man
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: IN YOUR HEAD, SHIT FOR BRAINS
Posts: 670
Age: 5
Hey, how can we change the music of the credits ?
There should be a <CMU somewhere in the map's script, or you could use a different map for credits.
 
Oct 29, 2018 at 11:02 AM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Nov 21, 2017
Location:
Posts: 239
Age: 18
There should be a <CMU somewhere in the map's script, or you could use a different map for credits.
Oh well thanks.
Oh and btw, how do I change the studio pixel quote at the beginning ?
 
Nov 3, 2018 at 1:01 PM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Nov 21, 2017
Location:
Posts: 239
Age: 18
Hey, I found out how to actually do this, in case you haven't yet.
It's done within the Credits.tsc script. Basically just put an exclamation mark on a new line, followed by the number of the music you want to play. Make sure that it's 4 digits long.
Example:
!0033
-Plays The Way Back Home.

Sorry for the double post.
Thanks you, indeed...I didn't found it :/
(Btw you can delete you're comment)
 
Nov 3, 2018 at 1:06 PM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Nov 21, 2017
Location:
Posts: 239
Age: 18
Wow, you're a ninja!

Dunno what "toi" is? Maybe you meant "Thank you"...

It's weird, the credits have their own script language. Even weirder, Pixel kinda did this in Ikachan as well. Also, I really love Ikachan's script language. It's so simple and tightly crafted, serving only for what it needed to.
It was a fail ^^'
I never really tried looking into ikachan script, wonder if it would be possible to make mods with ikachan engine.not just the maps editor
 
Top