Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Oct 18, 2009 at 12:49 PM
Hax on....Hax off....
"Keep on rollin'!"
Join Date: Jan 5, 2009
Location: Easter Island
Posts: 474
Well I know how to use the assembler but I can't understand what it means. The most advanced stuff I can do, really would be changing the display rect's on most things, like title screen objects and such.

I can mess around with values just a little. In fact I once worked out a way you could make the nemesis (Level 1) Spawn Ravils whenever you fire it. That isn't really relevant though...
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:29 AM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3052
the easiest way to do this is to make enemies not drop exp, which you can do by searching for somethging along the lines of
Code:
push 1
call 0046EFD0
and replacing push 1 with push 0. (changing npc 1 into npc 0).

this probably won't work, because of health and missiles, but if it does, kudos to moi.
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:36 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
Lace said:
the easiest way to do this is to make enemies not drop exp, which you can do by searching for somethging along the lines of
Code:
push 1
call 0046EFD0
and replacing push 1 with push 0. (changing npc 1 into npc 0).

this probably won't work, because of health and missiles, but if it does, kudos to moi.

Having npcs spawn a whole bunch of npc's type 0 does NOT seem like a good idea, since it'd be pretty easy for them to drop a whole bunch of npc's 0's and you might reach the npc on screen limit a lot faster. If you were to edit that out, you'd probably just want to remove the call to the function completely.
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:39 AM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
Pronouns: she/her
Need some help..

How do you make it so all of the sprite shows?

I made two of the little family's sprites bigger. (Four, more like, since I changed the little child and the little man.) THe problem is, its not showing all of the sprite, most likely because its bigger. How do you make it so all of the sprite can show?

(Im working on a very new mod. :p)
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:40 AM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3052
@gir

nyeh, if the call was more complex, and somethin like edx was pushed, with either hp or missiles or energy being moved into it earlier, killing the whole function would be a bad idea.
probably replacing the one with a 4 would work best, as it kills itself pretty fast.

@ryuuton
how comfortable are you with frame rects?
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:43 AM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
Pronouns: she/her
frame rects?

ryuuoutan*
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 12:44 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
I would take the time to teach her how to edit frame rects, but that involves teaching her how to use a disassembler and explaining what each frame rect is, and many many other things. Plus Ryuu hasn't been nice to me in the past, so that doesn't help her chances.

But we could/should make a simple tutorial on how to edit frame rects in the cavewiki.....
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 1:03 AM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3052
woah, I forgot about that thing.
we probably should.
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 1:09 PM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 32
Pronouns: he/him
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
Having npcs spawn a whole bunch of npc's type 0 does NOT seem like a good idea, since it'd be pretty easy for them to drop a whole bunch of npc's 0's and you might reach the npc on screen limit a lot faster. If you were to edit that out, you'd probably just want to remove the call to the function completely.

You know, if you want enemies not do drop xp, it'd be a lot easier to just hack npc.tbl and change the experience value to 0.
 
Oct 19, 2009 at 11:10 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
Pronouns: she/her
(Oh my god, is it really that frickin hard to add face tileset portraits so they dont crash?!)

Dude, how the hell do you add a face portrait WITHOUT the game crashing?!

Everytime I place a face portrait on another existing one or make new room for it and place it there, the instant it only CRASHES, CRASHES, CRASHES!

How the hell do you fix this?! Its really getting me angry!
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 4:21 AM
Been here way too long...
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Sep 16, 2009
Location:
Posts: 519
Hex edit (C)Pixel to the end of the face.pbm.

If you're using CE, just remove the (C)Pixel requirement.



Make sure that you're adding the correct amount of pixels to the HEIGHT of the image if you're adding new ones.
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 11:50 AM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
Pronouns: she/her
The pictures were copied and then pasted into Face.pbm.

The pictures that I had copied was png files

Anything wrong?
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 12:52 PM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 32
Pronouns: he/him
(C)Pixel

That's all you need
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 12:53 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3052
>_>
you did remove the (c)pixel requirement, right?
and made sure it wasn't read only?
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 8:43 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
Pronouns: she/her
It has the (C)Pixel requirement removed.

Also, Ill check.

REMOVED THE READ-ONLY STATUS, AND STILL CRASHES!

Goddamn, THIS NEVER WORKS.

Not a SOLUTION helps me with this.
 
Oct 20, 2009 at 9:59 PM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 32
Pronouns: he/him
Make sure the file is in bitmap format and has no more than 8-bit color depth (I suspect you may have accidentally saved in 24-bit color depth).
 
Oct 22, 2009 at 2:08 AM
Level 73 Procrastinator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Apr 6, 2009
Location: Forgotten Tower
Posts: 2052
And what's wrong with that?

wedge of cheese said:
Make sure the file is in bitmap format and has no more than 8-bit color depth (I suspect you may have accidentally saved in 24-bit color depth).
Huh? What's wrong with saving it in 24-bit?
I've saved half my files so far in that format and they work fine.
 
Oct 22, 2009 at 11:40 AM
Been here way too long...
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Sep 16, 2009
Location:
Posts: 519
Re: And what's wrong with that?

Hey guys, another question.


How far do you have to edit in CE before SW will corrupt the exe?

I'm just wondering because I'm finding the npc.tbl editor really useful, but I don't want to break SW compatibility with this mod.
 
Oct 22, 2009 at 12:56 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3052
I thunk map data, but that may be changed no matter what you edit.
I'd recommend cheeses npc.tbl editor.
 
Oct 22, 2009 at 5:52 PM
graters gonna grate
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jul 2, 2008
Location: &
Posts: 1886
Age: 32
Pronouns: he/him
Re: And what's wrong with that?

VoidMage_Lowell said:
Huh? What's wrong with saving it in 24-bit?
I've saved half my files so far in that format and they work fine.

Oh? The help file in Miza said that anything higher than 8-bit will crash the game. I never actually tested it myself though, I just assumed that was correct. Maybe it's not...
 
Back
Top