Jul 13, 2011 at 10:20 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
cultr1 said:
Alright, alright. =3

And those minigames are real easy with an emulator. (Obviously)
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 10:24 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
cultr1 said:
You could go with the ol' Zelda trick of three chests in front of you and you only get one (wouldn't be too hard), but that's all I can give you.

Yeah, that's what I'm planning. Just to be sure, this would be the script, right?

Code:
#0200
<CMU0014<FAI0000

#0201
<KEY<FLJ0005:0205<FL+0005<SOU0022<CNP0201:0021:0000<CNP0202:0021:0000<CNP0203:0021:0000
<MSGOpened the chest.<NOD<GIT0004<AM+0004:0100<CLR
<CMU0010Got Curly's =Machine Gun=!<WAI0160<NOD<GIT0000<CLR<RMUThere's a message here.<NOD<CLR<CATGood luck, hero!<NOD<CLRI'm counting on you.
     ~Curly<NOD<CLO<END

#0202
<KEY<FLJ0005:0205<FL+0005<SOU0022<CNP0201:0021:0000<CNP0202:0021:0000<CNP0203:0021:0000
<MSGOpened the chest.<NOD<CLR<CMU0016
<MSG<GIT1006Got a =Life Capsule=!<WAI0160<NOD<RMU<ML+0003
Max health increased by 3!<NOD<CLO<END

#0203
<KEY<FLJ0005:0205<FL+0005<SOU0022<CNP0201:0021:0000<CNP0202:0021:0000<CNP0203:0021:0000
<MSGOpened the chest.<NOD<GIT1018<IT+0018<CLR
<CMU0010Got Booster's =Booster 0.8=!<WAI0160<NOD<GIT0000<CLO<RMU<END

#0204
<KEY<FAO0002<TRA0107:0200:0002:0009

#0205
<KEY<MSGNothing.<NOD<CLO<END

Where 200 is entering the room, 204 is the door leaving the room, and the chests would be set to disappear when flag 5 is tagged.
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 10:31 PM
Only Love, Maximum Love, Forever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 6, 2009
Location: somewhere new
Posts: 2137
Age: 29
Yeah.
I wouldn't say "nothing." though, since they'd still be closed I assume.
I'd go for "Locked," or "It's locked."
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 10:49 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
cultr1 said:
Yeah.
I wouldn't say "nothing." though, since they'd still be closed I assume.
I'd go for "Locked," or "It's locked."

I decided to just make them all open when you open one, but the others will be empty, as if the other items disappeared. o:
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 10:59 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3054
For the record, the Plan A you originally wanted is completely possible.
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 11:16 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
Lace said:
For the record, the Plan A you originally wanted is completely possible.

Yeah, but I have no confidence in my hacking abilities to make it happen. Someone could help if he wanted, but he'd have to be interested enough in my project to want to help. o:

Oh, and yet another question. S:
I have a weapon energy capsule in a room that I want the player to only be able to utilize once. To do this, I made it event #0206 and set it to run script on death and disappear once flagID is set.

Code:
#0206
<FL+0006<END

Does run script on death not work for anything that isn't considered an enemy? If so, what other means do I have to make this work?
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 11:25 PM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 30
Orange said:
Yeah, but I have no confidence in my hacking abilities to make it happen. Someone could help if he wanted, but he'd have to be interested enough in my project to want to help. o:

Oh, and yet another question. S:
I have a weapon energy capsule in a room that I want the player to only be able to utilize once. To do this, I made it event #0206 and set it to run script on death and disappear once flagID is set.

Code:
#0206
<FL+0006<END

Does run script on death not work for anything that isn't considered an enemy? If so, what other means do I have to make this work?

It only runs when an the entity the flag is assigned to dies. I can't think of this would be done at the moment, I just know you would need some skip flags somewhere...
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 11:30 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 4, 2008
Location: Lingerie, but also, like, fancy curtains
Posts: 3054
Orange said:
Yeah, but I have no confidence in my hacking abilities to make it happen.
You only need tsc :/

Orange said:
Someone could help if she wanted, but she'd have to be interested enough in my project to want to help. o:
Not necessarily. People to random acts of kindness a bunch.
 
Jul 13, 2011 at 11:41 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
Lace said:
You only need tsc :/

Really...? I was under the impression that I'd need to hack in a custom function for in-game events to be affected by the player's saved time.
How would I go about doing that? :)

It only runs when an the entity the flag is assigned to dies. I can't think of this would be done at the moment, I just know you would need some skip flags somewhere...

Hmm... Could I make an enemy in the same scenario do what I'm trying to do? If so, would I be able to either suspend the enemy, rendering it virtually harmless and making its only purpose to provide weapon energy, or change the enemy into a weapon energy capsule upon arriving at the map, while it still retains the original entity's (enemy's) ability to die?
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 12:20 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 29
...You can shoot weapon energy capsules, just as they are. If it's got the shootable tag, it's shootable.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 1:06 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
jed37 said:
...You can shoot weapon energy capsules, just as they are. If it's got the shootable tag, it's shootable.

Well yeah, but I want to make it a one-time thing.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:01 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
You could make an energy crystal spawner, that spawns energy when you press down. Then it sets its own flag, and has disappear when set flag. Just add SNPXXXX:YYYY:0001:0000 times the amount of energy you want to spawn. You could even make it an enemy that explodes energy with run script upon death.

So, can you change data such as quote's speed and bullet data when CS is running? Or does it have to be set as soon as CS is open?
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:12 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
Lace said:
Tually if you put npc.tbl into your root folder, those show all the possible entities.

I think you mean put npc.ini into the mod folder. Then it works.
Hmm... I didn't know you could do that. I assumed that Sue's Workshop reading off of npc.ini wasn't implemented yet. Ah well - that makes life easier.

=== === ===

I don't wanna double post so I'm answering something here:

LunarSoul said:
So, can you change data such as quote's speed and bullet data when CS is running? Or does it have to be set as soon as CS is open?

I know the first hack (change of player speed or jump height during game) is possible because I've done it before.
You just need to make a conditional jump statement that will jump to a different MOV command in the agility code.
So basically, check a certain TSC flag using ASM - if the flag is set, do a jump statement to the MOV which sets fast speed. Otherwise, jump to the MOV which sets a slow speed. After that, continue the rest of the player agility code.

Then by doing <FL+ and <FL- whatever that flag was you chose, you can change the speed of the player during the game.

Bullet data change would also be possible though a similar but slightly more complex manipulation of conditional jump statements and checking for TSC flags.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:21 AM
LSD
"..."
Join Date: Jun 2, 2011
Location:
Posts: 397
Age: 25
OK, I finally figured out how to edit sprites, but ever since I have, in the Doukutsu I edited them in, all of the 'nothing' entities have been showing up as that sprite (a blue quote ._.)
How can I fix this?
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:22 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Cool, so it runs through those parts over and over again? Thanks!
Oh, and how would you find whether a tsc flag is set or not? I'm guessing you store it to a register, but is there a function or something?
Also, is there a ram offset for the current amount of air you have left?
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:36 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
LunarSoul said:
Cool, so it runs through those parts over and over again? Thanks!
Oh, and how would you find whether a tsc flag is set or not? I'm guessing you store it to a register, but is there a function or something?
Also, is there a ram offset for the current amount of air you have left?

From the Assembly Compendium:

Code:
[COLOR="Blue"]Check flag function:[/COLOR]
PUSH (flag number)     ;Convert to hex first. Flag 5000 is actually PUSH 1388.
CALL 0040E930
ADD ESP, 4

After you run the function, look in EAX for the answer. EAX will be 1 if the flag is set, and 0 if the flag is not set.

And yeah, there is a RAM offset for the current air:

Oxygen = [49E6DC]
This is a pointer to a DWORD.

The offset contains "oxygen times 10". That means, if the oxygen displayed is 99, the offset contains 990 (convert that to hex). If the oxygen displayed is 45, then the offset contains 450. At least, I think that's true if I remembered correctly.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:39 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
LunarSoul said:
You could make an energy crystal spawner, that spawns energy when you press down.

Arigatou Shimasu :3 It's perfect.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 2:40 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Gotcha. That's really helpful, thanks!

And no problem, orange!
...Shimasu? I have to freshen up on my minimal japanese knowledge.

EDIT: I must be missing something; shimasu is not a japanese word.
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 3:04 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
Shimasu is the polite form of suru, a verb meaning "do" in general. To my knowledge, the context he used it in was wrong.

Maybe he meant "Arigatou gozaimasu"?
 
Jul 14, 2011 at 3:08 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Jul 13, 2011
Location: Submerged in the colour orange
Posts: 63
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
Shimasu is the polite form of suru, a verb meaning "do" in general. To my knowledge, the context he used it in was wrong.

Maybe he meant "Arigatou gozaimasu"?

S:
I was taught that "domo arigatou" and "arigatou shimasu" were polite forms of saying thank you. That could very well be incorrect though. :D
 
Top