Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Feb 2, 2014 at 3:54 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
It's a javascript parser
So, you can generate a bunch of TSC procedurally
The out variable is linked to the textfield on the right, which is a JTextPane, but all you need to know about that is you can use out.setText() to populate it.

If you need help to learn javascript then it's beyond me
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 2:29 AM
leader of the meme team feat. tom, snaf and polad
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Jan 24, 2014
Location: Polar✪
Posts: 300
Noxid, is it possible for entities to be outside of the editor window?

Like if I shift the map and entities go outside of the maps allowed editing space, making it impossible for me to remove those entities?

Because there are entities spawning that I can't see in the editor, and I have reason to believe that they're outside of the selection range and there's nothing I can do about it.
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 2:45 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
yeah it could happen
delete all entities on the map, or temporarily resize it so you can see them I guesss
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 2:56 AM
leader of the meme team feat. tom, snaf and polad
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Jan 24, 2014
Location: Polar✪
Posts: 300
...the entities can go pretty far out.

p146739-0-wl9klr5.png


For reference, I had to upscale the width from 21 to 200 just to see all those. And I don't even know if that's all!

Edit: If I were to make a suggestion, how about a drag select? A box to highlight many, many NPC's at once? Because deleting them one by one is tedious.
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 4:22 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Noxid said:
delete all entities on the map,
except do it in ce bc apparently fuck beta bl
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 9:15 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
MagicDoors said:
except do it in ce bc apparently fuck beta bl
whaaaaaaat
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 9:45 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6210
Age: 38
Maybe an auto-remove oob entities confirmation dialog on map save or resize is in order, with the option to set a default behaviour under settings.
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 2:46 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Dunc2403 said:
Remember how I asked you for a remove all entities function months ago
did I not add it
I am pretty sure I added it

p146744-0-wiltgg9.png

look it's right there
 
Feb 4, 2014 at 2:52 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
you didnt add it hard enough
Insitive ham
 
Feb 12, 2014 at 12:07 AM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Jul 29, 2009
Location: The Surface
Posts: 246

I completed a basic tutorial on how to use the Script parser thing, with some help from the Judge. (You'll see what that means.)



The find function in Script mode does weird things when it loops around to the top of the script. I did a search for 'Egg' in the Egg Observation Room script, which worked until:



[attachment=579:egg.png]



The entityList.txt file has accidentally been truncated to 28 entities; I had to move over the file from an older version. On the plus side, Bomchu's framerects seem accurate. Visible Layers checkboxes in Tile seem to have stopped working, and Scripts aren't marking themselves as modified when you do things like generate CMPs or TRAs or double click a command to add it. Also, somehow <AE+, <YNJ and <ZAM got removed from the TSC list.



And, I fixed some sizable mistakes I made in my Script Window tutorial.



[attachment=580:scriptwindow.htm]
 

Attachments

  • egg.png
    egg.png
    11.2 KB · Views: 0
  • scriptwindow.htm
    14.4 KB · Views: 1
Feb 12, 2014 at 12:26 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I completed a basic tutorial on how to use the Script parser thing, with some help from the Judge. (You'll see what that means.)
Thanks a bindle! I'll add it to the help files right away.
The find function in Script mode does weird things when it loops around to the top of the script. I did a search for 'Egg' in the Egg Observation Room script, which worked until:

--snip--
oh yeah, that's been a kind-of known issue for a while.. I don't really have a good solution to it yet and I guess it hasn't been very high priority.
The entityList.txt file has accidentally been truncated to 28 entities; I had to move over the file from an older version.
Oops. That'd probably be the one I was using for Kitten Battle Dungeon. Good thing there are lots of copies lying around.
On the plus side, Bomchu's framerects seem accurate.
well at least the parts I didn't do aren't screwed up.
Visible Layers checkboxes in Tile seem to have stopped working,
really? I'll have to check that one out, I have made some pretty considerable changes to the map screen so anything coulda happened.
and Scripts aren't marking themselves as modified when you do things like generate CMPs or TRAs or double click a command to add it.
Ah, those are special cases so I probably will have to add some exceptions for those. Thanks.
Also, somehow <AE+, <YNJ and <ZAM got removed from the TSC list.
Hm, again must have grabbed the wrong file. Will look into it.


I appreciate all the help with this, it's hard to test everything and make sure it's all square after you've spent several hours coding and just want to see it shipped. Testing is hard.
 
Feb 12, 2014 at 12:48 AM
Senior Member
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Jul 29, 2009
Location: The Surface
Posts: 246
My pleasure, Nox! (lol it's basically all I'm giving back to the community right now.. But by the noodles I will do it proficiently)
 
Feb 14, 2014 at 5:21 PM
leader of the meme team feat. tom, snaf and polad
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Jan 24, 2014
Location: Polar✪
Posts: 300
Feb 14, 2014 at 5:37 PM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 31
PolarStarGames said:
p146750-0-whhfw8l.gif


Well...shit.
Happens whenever I click

p146750-1-tmbkcac.png


for a custom tileset,

p146750-2-7mebogg.png
Your tileset is too large. Didn't we tell you in the other thread that the max size is 256x256 pixels?
 
Feb 14, 2014 at 5:43 PM
leader of the meme team feat. tom, snaf and polad
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Jan 24, 2014
Location: Polar✪
Posts: 300
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
Your tileset is too large. Didn't we tell you in the other thread that the max size is 256x256 pixels?
Well I didn't get a very concise answer. You did say it, in retrospect, but you said it honestly pretty confusingly. Now I feel stupid, though.
 
Feb 14, 2014 at 8:17 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
I don't remember if it has been mentioned but if it's possible, a way to edit resources in the game (like resource hacker does) would be really helpful in my opinion.
Also, the editor doesn't seem to want to consider a map edited if you only change the map data, like name and background. Saving the map might still do something regardless, but the (*) isn't there so it might get confusing when having more than one map open at a time or something.
 
Feb 14, 2014 at 8:26 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Coffee said:
I don't remember if it has been mentioned but if it's possible, a way to edit resources in the game (like resource hacker does) would be really helpful in my opinion.
that would require me to literally reprogram resource hacker
 
Top