Jan 20, 2013 at 11:50 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Yes.
Sprite edit or hacks. Take your pick.
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 12:16 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
I am an ASM hacker and I would much rather change the sprites than modify the executable.

And yes, I purposely broke past the 1337 post line just to post this, because it's so obvious that you should never hack something when you can copy and paste an unused sprite into the correct place so easily.

This is a case when less work is actually much more reasonable and much more doable.
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 2:45 AM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
so you're saying I can only use it if it's changed into a used enemy?
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 2:46 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Basic answer: yes.
Complex answer: ask carrot.
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 2:58 AM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
okay, so I think I'll go for a complex answer... carrotlord, what can I do?
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 4:35 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
Ryuuoutan said:
okay, so I think I'll go for a complex answer... carrotlord, what can I do?
Why dont you make an NPC sprite set that replaces the basu(the giant fly thing)With the owl? I did that once, except with the unused flying puppy sprites. And to make the frog with the sword, you could replace the gravekeeper with the knife from the graveyard with the frog.
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 2:15 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
hm.... okay, I guess I'll try.

oh, and how do you add unused sprites to that entity that has some, like the unused flying gaudi going forward?
 
Jan 21, 2013 at 5:28 PM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
Yes you just copy and paste the thing you need into the thing you want.
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 6:19 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Apparently you messed up some of the machine gun's code somehow (like, there was a PUSH missing from the code) and that caused the game to crash when you shot to the right.
Fixing that is kind of difficult to do and really is just copypasting code so I uploaded a fixed copy for you.
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 6:36 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 22, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35
Weird... I used Cave Editor's bullet editing to increase the power of Machine Gun, because it's the only gun she'll have for a long time.
I was wondering if that caused it to crash, so I changed it back, but still...
Anyways, thank you so much :)
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 6:46 AM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Well, that explains the changes from -0AA to -1 in a bunch of parts in the code. Sorry for resetting those parts and causing you more work, I just wanted to make sure the problem was fixed :3
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 11:25 AM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332

I'm setting up an event like the one where toroko attacks you in the shack, and heres the code:



"<CMP0007:0009:0000<CMP0008:0009:0000<CNP5004:0063:0002<CMU0000"



The entity 5004 has its flags set to: "Run script on death" and "Press down to activate script" (Goes to a different event if you press down after shooting).



The problem is, when the attack happens, toroko just runs around, and if i shoot her, nothing happens. What am i doing wrong?
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 12:05 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
The "run script on death" flag stops enemies with that flag from hurting you.
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 12:11 PM
Veteran Member
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 21, 2012
Location: At a computer
Posts: 332
MagicDoors said:
The "run script on death" flag stops enemies with that flag from hurting you.
Okay, but how do i set up this event correctly? It still doesn't work.
EDIT:Nevermind, i got it working.
 
Jan 23, 2013 at 12:49 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
My apologies, I meant that the "press down to execute script" flag screws it up.
Anyway, good that you got it working.
 
Jan 24, 2013 at 9:48 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 22, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35

Does anyone know how to make an enemy appear in an area it doesn't belong in?

I wanted to make a boss mod (I know there're already a lot of them, just making it for my own practice)

and I would like Igor as an enemy like on the Balcony fight alongside Frenzied Toroko.

I used <CNPXXXX:0268:0000 at the start of the fight, but all I got is a glitched block acting like Igor.

Also, I tried using Rabids, too, with the same result, a glitched block acting like a Rabid.

Help anyone? :(

(Here is the file if it helps solving the problem: http://www.mediafire.com/?6cp9k13c19y98g4)
 
Jan 24, 2013 at 12:38 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
NPCs looking like glitched sprites is a result of using the wrong spritesheet. If you're going to use two bosses in one map, you need to open the NPC editor and scroll down to either one of the bosses. Where there's a dropdown menu that says "spritesheet 2" or whatever, choose "spritesheet 1" instead. Then change the spritesheets in the bosses' map to fit which bosses you're using - make sure the spritesheet for the boss you listed as "spritesheet 1" goes in the first slot, and the other one in the second slot.
Sorry if that sounded confusing. If you want a clearer solution then I can post some pictures tonight to illustrate.
 
Jan 25, 2013 at 8:17 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 22, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35
No, that was okay. I understand you. Thanks~


Almost the same question as before, but this time, I'm trying to use npc294, quake & block generator in the boulder chamber fight with Barlog.
If I change either sprite sheet 1 or sprite sheet 2, Barlog glitches blocks. If I don't, the generator send out glitched blocks. Help anyone? :confused:
 
Jan 25, 2013 at 4:32 PM
essentially spirited away for an indefinite time.
"..."
Join Date: Jul 16, 2009
Location: in a castle.
Posts: 372
okay. this hasn't been happening before. theres this event where you open up a chest. and whenever you get the items, after the "Got ==items here=" part, the text box simply closes instead of waiting.. and then the player is stuck in an event where you can only keep nodding and unknown text can be heard typing. could it have something to do with installing TSC+?
 
Top