• There have been a couple of accounts stolen via compromised passwords this week, we will continue trying to fix them as they happen but I would suggest everyone change any basic passwords and check if they've been caught in a data breach, in case it affects any other websites with more sensitive personal information that they may also be on
Feb 2, 2016 at 5:12 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 211
Age: 24
Some NPCs are set to a specific spritesheet, such as NpcGuest and NpcRegu. They can also be set to a specific spritesheet in the Data folder instead of the Npc folder (for example, the Quote NPCs are set to MyChar). There are also some NPCs set to the tileset being used in the room (like the Lift Block and Large Shutter from the Core room).

Ok, that's cool...

Now how does one actually CHANGE what the Npc's are set to?
 
Feb 2, 2016 at 5:17 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2670
Age: 28
Here's where you can change the NPC's set in npc.tbl
p212168-0-dqhpisv.png
 
Feb 2, 2016 at 11:38 PM
Catz R cool
Modding Community Discord Moderator
"..."
Join Date: Nov 23, 2015
Location: Somewhere within a world far away from reality...
Posts: 381
Age: 22
Can someone tell me the asm offsets for the health of each of the 'major room bosses?'

I mean like Balfrog, Monster X, Ballos' third form etc
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 1:26 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 12, 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 36
Eh... Hi guys.
So I saw something about debug saving, and I wanted to do that, but I have never ever EVER done hex editing before. Could someone help me out with this?
***link is here
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 4:49 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Aug 24, 2013
Location: 0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 208
Eh... Hi guys.
So I saw something about debug saving, and I wanted to do that, but I have never ever EVER done hex editing before. Could someone help me out with this?
***link is here
You just open cave story in a hex editor (like HxD - google it). Seek to the offset and change the value (make sure it overwrites the pre-existing value and doesn't add a value). Just change the values already there to what RuneLancer specified.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 9:51 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 211
Age: 24
Well do you have a 32 or 64-bit OS? Google how to find out if you don't know.
Download the 64-bit version of ollydbg if you have 64-bit windows. And if that doesn't work, try this out - haven't used it and of course there are no guides around here that show it but it seems to do what olly does

Uh, I can't seem to find a 64-bit olly anywhere... do you know where it is?
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 10:00 AM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 774
Age: 24
Uh, I can't seem to find a 64-bit olly anywhere... do you know where it is?
Is a 64-bit OllyDbg even needed? Cave story isn't 64-bit(as far as I know) and I use the 32-bit version myself and haven't had any problems.
Also there isn't a 64-bit OllyDbg yet as far as I'm concerned.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 10:49 AM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 774
Age: 24
I honestly blame my shitty laptop for the error.
Try explaining the exact steps you take(Starting from after you opened whatever you were using OllyDbg for) that causes the error.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 6:14 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Aug 24, 2013
Location: 0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 208
Is a 64-bit OllyDbg even needed? Cave story isn't 64-bit(as far as I know) and I use the 32-bit version myself and haven't had any problems.
Also there isn't a 64-bit OllyDbg yet as far as I'm concerned.
CS is 32-bit, but that doesn't really have much to do with what version of olly you use - x64 bit olly will run better on x64-bit computers.
I'm pretty sure there's an x64-bit olly and that I have it downloaded, but I could be wrong. Of course if there isn't, @Kenzo_ITC should consider the other disassembler I linked.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 10:04 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 211
Age: 24
Try explaining the exact steps you take(Starting from after you opened whatever you were using OllyDbg for) that causes the error.

I actually made a thread explaining my problem in the technical issues.

YOU EVEN REPLIED TO IT, SAYING THAT I SHOULD JUST TRY TO REPORT THE PROBLEM, WHICH REALLY DIDN'T HELP.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 10:15 PM
Catz R cool
Modding Community Discord Moderator
"..."
Join Date: Nov 23, 2015
Location: Somewhere within a world far away from reality...
Posts: 381
Age: 22
Can someone tell me the asm offsets for the health of each of the 'major room bosses?'

I mean like Balfrog, Monster X, Ballos' third form etc
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 11:07 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 774
Age: 24
I actually made a thread explaining my problem in the technical issues.

YOU EVEN REPLIED TO IT, SAYING THAT I SHOULD JUST TRY TO REPORT THE PROBLEM, WHICH REALLY DIDN'T HELP.
I already know this, but I think I had the same error when I used ollydbg about two weeks ago, later than when you started the thread and me answering.
I'm just asking what you did to try and help, no need to get so aggressive tbh.
 
Feb 3, 2016 at 11:39 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 211
Age: 24
I already know this, but I think I had the same error when I used ollydbg about two weeks ago, later than when you started the thread and me answering.
I'm just asking what you did to try and help, no need to get so aggressive tbh.

Sorry, I wasn't trying to go off as aggressive.

Well here's how it went:

1. Set up olly, everything's fine...

2. Load up Dokutsu, everything's still fine...

3. Changed some offsets, and copy to excutable.

4. Try to exit out and it says:

"Would you like to save your changes?"

I click yes, and then that's when the error happens...
 
Feb 4, 2016 at 1:20 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
are you sure the file is not read-only
 
Feb 4, 2016 at 5:41 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
that's great but your statement doesn't contribute to a solution and only serves to take away from my attempt to diagnose the situation
 
Last edited:
Top