• Hey everyone happy Christmas Eve we're aware of what's happened with the source code so to keep this simple absolutely don't post it on the site or use it to make mods with (it's not particularly preferable toward this end anyway) and tread lightly in general until we see how this settles, thanks to all and have a great holiday season -DT

Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Feb 16, 2015 at 9:17 PM
Its dark in here
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Nov 21, 2013
Location: farther
Posts: 922
Age: 28
Pronouns: he/him
Kim Tyranto said:
Is it possible to prevent the player from being invulnerable during a WAI command?
not without asm, I think? now that I think about it... didn't something like that happen in Cavern Tale? when you talked to the psychotic physician, he hurt you twice in the event.
 
Feb 16, 2015 at 9:44 PM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
Quote is invulnerable to entities as long as a script event is running (but, oddly enough, not invulnerable to map tile spikes). You would need to do a quick ASM hack to turn it off. I don't know how to do it myself, but it's been done a few times before, like in Dubby's mod (I forget what that was called).
 
Feb 16, 2015 at 11:46 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1642
Age: 27
While on the topic, how to you prevent script from destroying invincibility because in an old mod everythimy you got hit by a foe, it would run an event, but then the event ends, you would instantly get damaged again when it finishes running and was wondering if it was actually possible to retain invincibility through/after the script ran. (the script uses <KEY at the beginning so yeah.)
 
Feb 16, 2015 at 11:58 PM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 32
While on the topic, how to you prevent script from destroying invincibility because in an old mod everythimy you got hit by a foe, it would run an event, but then the event ends, you would instantly get damaged again when it finishes running and was wondering if it was actually possible to retain invincibility through/after the script ran. (the script uses <KEY at the beginning so yeah.)
Check the ASM for when an event starts, somewhere in there it resets Quote's invincibility timer to 0, I think.
 
Feb 17, 2015 at 12:12 AM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1642
Age: 27
iirc I found 4 different areas that is does that, so I'm kind of at a loss of what to do.

oh whell.
 
Feb 17, 2015 at 4:34 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Pronouns: he/him
erase them one at a time and see what happens
2DBro said:
I tried BL's and this happened


Did I do something wrong
I modified the Title Screen hack in BL0414 to give it some options that let you remove the version/new/load shit
otherwise it's working exactly as intended and the image you posted is what is contained in your title.bmp so I have no idea what you are taking issue with

but download the new version of BL if you want
 
Feb 17, 2015 at 4:35 PM
beep boop
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Aug 16, 2014
Location: no
Posts: 848
Age: 23
Pronouns: he/him
How would I remove the bubble from the universe 1 physics? I need it gone for something quite unique that will be seen in the next version of Dust.
 
Feb 17, 2015 at 9:56 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1642
Age: 27

Is the exe hard coded so it doesn't accept input for NPC's direction when above 3?





I made a custom NPC that part of the rendering system relies on it, and I wanted it using direction and Scriptstate to render a certain area of a spritesheet in a grid like fashion.


Code:
offset NPC005 ;replaces critter
#define
L_framerect_distance = 0
U_framerect_distance = 0

sprite_height        = 10
sprite_width         = 10
#enddefine

push ebp
mov ebp,esp
sub esp,10                        
xor eax, eax
xor edx, edx
MOV DWORD [EBP-10],eax
MOV DWORD [EBP-C],eax 
MOV DWORD [EBP-8],eax
MOV DWORD [EBP-4],eax
setpointer



:render
mov eax, npc.scriptstate
imul eax, eax, 10
mov npc.DisplayL, eax
add eax, sprite_width 
mov npc.displayR, eax

mov edx, npc.direction
imul edx, edx 10
mov npc.DisplayU, edx
add edx sprite_height
mov npc.displayD, edx
 
:end_of_code
mov esp, ebp
pop ebp
retn


I've been fiddling with it for like 3 hours now and want some solutions. :/



oh yeah and some TSC if that helps


Code:
<MNP0008:0008:0017:0000<CNP0008:0005:0000<ANP0008:0001:0000
<MNP0009:0009:0017:0000<CNP0009:0005:0000<ANP0009:0002:0000
<MNP0010:0010:0017:0000<CNP0010:0005:0000<ANP0010:0008:0000
<MNP0011:0011:0017:0000<CNP0011:0005:0000<ANP0011:0004:0000
<MNP0012:0012:0017:0000<CNP0012:0005:0000<ANP0012:0001:0000

 
Feb 18, 2015 at 10:07 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Aug 2, 2014
Location: inactivity.
Posts: 115
Is the exe hard coded so it doesn't accept input for NPC's direction when above 3?





I made a custom NPC that part of the rendering system relies on it, and I wanted it using direction and Scriptstate to render a certain area of a spritesheet in a grid like fashion.


Code:
offset NPC005 ;replaces critter
#define
L_framerect_distance = 0
U_framerect_distance = 0

sprite_height        = 10
sprite_width         = 10
#enddefine

push ebp
mov ebp,esp
sub esp,10                        
xor eax, eax
xor edx, edx
MOV DWORD [EBP-10],eax
MOV DWORD [EBP-C],eax 
MOV DWORD [EBP-8],eax
MOV DWORD [EBP-4],eax
setpointer



:render
mov eax, npc.scriptstate
imul eax, eax, 10
mov npc.DisplayL, eax
add eax, sprite_width 
mov npc.displayR, eax

mov edx, npc.direction
imul edx, edx 10
mov npc.DisplayU, edx
add edx sprite_height
mov npc.displayD, edx
 
:end_of_code
mov esp, ebp
pop ebp
retn


I've been fiddling with it for like 3 hours now and want some solutions. :/



oh yeah and some TSC if that helps


Code:
<MNP0008:0008:0017:0000<CNP0008:0005:0000<ANP0008:0001:0000
<MNP0009:0009:0017:0000<CNP0009:0005:0000<ANP0009:0002:0000
<MNP0010:0010:0017:0000<CNP0010:0005:0000<ANP0010:0008:0000
<MNP0011:0011:0017:0000<CNP0011:0005:0000<ANP0011:0004:0000
<MNP0012:0012:0017:0000<CNP0012:0005:0000<ANP0012:0001:0000
Probably is, give me a sec to find the code that writes to it using Cheat Engine(which by experience is good at finding what writes to stuff) and a few ANP commands....

...Well, setting 0x70047,0x70048,0x7001D and 0x7001E to 0x90(EDIT: That is, replacing 2 instructions with NOPs) allowed values of 4(at least in memory. It's likely to be received by your ASM though...), so hopefully that'll work. Sorry if it breaks anything else, but the Toroko cutscenes and the "King explains who he is" cutscene work, so it *seems* I haven't broken anything.

Furthermore, I tested without the edits, and when I set the direction to 4, it comes out as 2, so my edits are at least doing something.

(With great power comes great responsibility:don't poke values above 3 where you shouldn't, haven't tested but might go wrong)



(EDIT2:Okay, APPARENTLY Cheat Engine uses a different addressing system to Doukutsu Assembler. Didn't know that at the time. Wait for me to work out the right address...)

(EDIT3:

Hopefully this will be my final edit. Cheat Engine addresses map to Doukutsu Assembler addresses, as long as you remember to get the ABSOLUTE address, not the relative-to-module address, despite how logical using the relative-to-module address seems.

I have 2 Doukutsu Assembler blocks:
Code:
offset 470047
nop
nop
And:
Code:
offset 47001D
nop
nop
These should fix it. Sorry about all the edits, I'm new to actually modifying EXEs.
 
Feb 18, 2015 at 4:49 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4481
Pronouns: she/her
Sorry about the title screen hack, I'm pretty sure it doesn't work completely and I've been meaning to fix it. If noxid got it to work though then that works too.
 
Feb 19, 2015 at 10:33 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Aug 2, 2014
Location: inactivity.
Posts: 115
Bionicobot said:
How would I remove the bubble from the universe 1 physics? I need it gone for something quite unique that will be seen in the next version of Dust.
If you don't think you'll ever need the bubble(for anything), you could just make it invisible(edit the image file it's in, wherever that is...)
Otherwise(you're using the bubble for Curly?), somewhere, there's probably Yet Another CMP Just Waiting To Be Patched Over in the drawing routines(If you need this option I'll make a Doukutsu Assembler file for it, but the simple option is best if possible)
 
Feb 19, 2015 at 1:27 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Feb 8, 2015
Location: Maria Wall. Now I'm scount legion (eren)
Posts: 19
there anything you can tell me how to create boss fight in the mods??
 
Feb 19, 2015 at 9:29 PM
beep boop
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Aug 16, 2014
Location: no
Posts: 848
Age: 23
Pronouns: he/him
I need the bubble removed for the <UNI0001 because you get the air tank early on, so I can't have it in the <UNI0001 because it's being used for something rather different from what others have done with it.
Also, is there any way that I can make a tile that puts the tile in the background, but makes it have the water affects?
 
Feb 19, 2015 at 9:32 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Oct 22, 2014
Location: Xyrinfe multiverse
Posts: 100
Age: 29
Pronouns: she/her
Bionicobot said:
Also, is there any way that I can make a tile that puts the tile in the background, but makes it have the water affects?
Tile type 02 would be for background water tiles.
 
Feb 19, 2015 at 9:45 PM
beep boop
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Aug 16, 2014
Location: no
Posts: 848
Age: 23
Pronouns: he/him
Ah, thanks.
I still need the bubble fix though...
 
Feb 20, 2015 at 11:28 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Aug 2, 2014
Location: inactivity.
Posts: 115
Ah, thanks.
I still need the bubble fix though...
I found the jump that causes the bubble to appear, and disabled it.

You could have just gotten rid of the bubble art, but okay,use this Doukutsu Assembler patch:
Code:
offset 41562F
data EB 7F
Also, apparently there's no camera tracking with <UNI0001(yes, I tested without the patch as well).

If you want camera tracking, use this instead(It's basic, and there's a bug when you take damage, but it works):
Code:
;NoBubble with basic camera tracking.
;There's a bug where the camera jumps around if you take damage.
;Use Noxid's defines.txt!
offset 41562F
jne 4156B0 ;(this comes right after a CMP)
;Track camera
mov eax,PlayerXPos
sub eax,14000
mov CameraPosX,eax
mov eax,PlayerYPos
sub eax,F000
mov CameraPosY,eax
jmp 4156B0
 
Feb 20, 2015 at 12:38 PM
beep boop
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Aug 16, 2014
Location: no
Posts: 848
Age: 23
Pronouns: he/him
I just add an invisible dog to focus on, so there would be no bugs, but thank you for this!
 
Feb 20, 2015 at 1:12 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Aug 2, 2014
Location: inactivity.
Posts: 115
Bionicobot said:
I just add an invisible dog to focus on, so there would be no bugs, but thank you for this!
Use the invisible dog, it's probably less buggy(!)
 
Back
Top