How do you change entity in Cave Editor/Change the main character to another NPC

Aug 3, 2020 at 5:44 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
I am currently making a Cave Story mod in Cave Editor, and I was wondering how you change the NPC being edited in the NPC Table Editor. Also, can you change the main character (quote) to another NPC, like Curly or Sue for example? Maybe even an unused NPC?
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 5:58 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jul 6, 2019
Location: somewhere you've been
Posts: 207
scroll up and down to see other npcs
to change the character just copy their sprites on mychar.bmp, for enemies, I would assume you have to add and make their sprites manually
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 5:58 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
can you change the main character (quote) to another NPC, like Curly or Sue for example? Maybe even an unused NPC?
So, you want the PC to be someone else? If so, that's easy. Just open the "MyChar" file(which is found in the data folder) with your pixel art editor or whatever(e.g. paint.net) and replace the sprites.
Also, I recommend using Booster's Lab for modding. It's the most advanced one and it will prevent some frustration.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 5:59 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2635
Age: 26
1. Most fields should be self explanatory. It allows you to change health, exp it's worth, sound effects, bitmap that renders its sprites, and edit graphic size and hitbox size.
2. Use Mspaint.

Jesus christ, y'all posted immediately at the same time.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:03 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2635
Age: 26
I recommend Pixelformer, but I guess if you want, ms paint
I was being rhetorical with that. Especially considering what was being asked, lmao.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:18 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
lol I never dreamed this many ppl would reply to my posts
And none of these posts really answered my question
 
Last edited:
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:19 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
And remember to experiment with your tilesets when you make a map. You'd be surprised how many interesting combinations you can create.
Just a random tip.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:20 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2635
Age: 26
lol I never dreamed this many ppl would reply to my posts
Imagine expecting none. Also, I'd suggest asking in the Quick Modding Questions/Answers thread next time.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:20 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
k

So, you want the PC to be someone else? If so, that's easy. Just open the "MyChar" file(which is found in the data folder) with your pixel art editor or whatever(e.g. paint.net) and replace the sprites.
Also, I recommend using Booster's Lab for modding. It's the most advanced one and it will prevent some frustration.
IDK which runtime you need to download to run .jar files
Whatever I do it won't run
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:30 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
Do you have Java installed?
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:36 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2635
Age: 26
You basically need Java 8, the same one publically available for commercial use (and required to play Minecraft). Java 14 exists, but that's for if you wanna code in it.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:44 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
I got java but now Booster's Lab just flashes up the DOS prompt for 1 sec and does nothing. I'm on Windows 10
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:47 PM
Best Cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2635
Age: 26
I got java but now Booster's Lab just flashes up the DOS prompt for 1 sec and does nothing. I'm on Windows 10
Did you extract only the jar file? You need the whole folder it's in extracted.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:49 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
Aug 3, 2020 at 6:55 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
Also, you place entities with the "I" key in Booster's Lab(This is very important!). Don't listen to evil people who say otherwise.
 
Aug 3, 2020 at 7:04 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
how do you change the character in boosters lab
Wait NVM
 
Last edited:
Aug 9, 2020 at 11:51 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Aug 3, 2020
Location: 0.57
Posts: 79
Top