Introduction and TSC Questions

Jun 25, 2007 at 11:46 PM
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Hey SeriousFace, it's me.

Most of you haven't heard of me, so I suppose I'll introduce myself first.

I'm a somewhat experienced programmer and an ardent fan of a few gazillion video games. My assembly language skills are extremely rusty but probably intact; if anyone has notes on the Cave Story code that they're willing to give out, put me in line. I'd love to work on tools to help people make mods of this game. However, I know next to nothing about the process of making mods itself, besides what I learned from studying those made by the members of this forum (Jenka's Nightmare was one particularly helpful example, off the top of my head).

On the other hand, I've done Hell in 3:46 and I'm quite proud of it, and I got to Five in Corridor (hardcore mode, of course) and got to Ballos with purple-hair-chick in Heaven's Tower, so I guess I'm fairly competent at actually playing the game, for a keyboard player. Feel free to shoot that down, though.

I currently use Sue's Workshop, the one that supposedly doesn't crash bosses with different room numbers, but I haven't tested that. Are there any other programs available to specifically modify Cave Story? I've heard that RuneLancer is making a weapon editor but isn't done with it; what else?

I'm making a mod of Cave Story (who isn't?), and I have a couple of questions about the scripting. That was the original purpose of making this thread, but then I realized that none of you knew me yet =P

First, about the <CMP command. Is it possible to make the map changes permanent? Can you prevent the smoke puffs from showing up?