Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Dec 22, 2015 at 6:35 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 24
Would it be possible to have the Tileset window moved to the complete right hand side of the info plane like this?

BL-redesign-example_zpszs8mou32.png


with it's current placement it make a redundantly large black area if you expand it downward enough to grab any tile on a decently large tileset and since the width of tileset max out at 255 pixels I don't see how any tiles would ever cover the black area.

My monitor is 1080 so the options would easily fit into the space between the cat and the window but I don't know about smaller monitors...
 
Dec 22, 2015 at 6:43 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I mean, it pops out so you can place it like that yourself, right?
or is the problem that it then covers up a few of the controls
I can fix the controls to have better flexibility for wider displays. I always test to make it functional in the smallest possible configuration but I guess this could be made better as well.
 
Dec 22, 2015 at 8:01 PM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1638
Age: 24
Yeah It covers controls (that I don't use very often but still), but the default position isn't really a good place, I always pop the window out and move it around and that's where it ends up 95% of the time. (maybe because I use Sony Vegas a lot and dock the preview window in the top right...) Adding flexibility is always a good thing: It just seems like the window would be better up there as the default placement
Also poppable windows would be a good thing like TP mentioned in the other thread (especially since I have dual/triple monitors...) It would be pretty useful.
 
Jan 16, 2016 at 12:15 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: May 26, 2013
Location: Where i live
Posts: 5
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0"
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: java.lang.NullPointerException
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at com.sun.java.swing.plaf.windows.XPStyle.getTypeEnumName(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at com.sun.java.swing.plaf.windows.XPStyle.getBorder(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at com.sun.java.swing.plaf.windows.WindowsLookAndFeel$XPBorderValue.getXPValue(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at com.sun.java.swing.plaf.windows.WindowsLookAndFeel$XPValue.createValue(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.UIDefaults.getFromHashtable(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.UIDefaults.get(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.MultiUIDefaults.get(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.UIDefaults.getBorder(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.UIManager.getBorder(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.border.TitledBorder.getBorder(Unknown Source)
Jan 15, 2016 5:12:42 PM
STDERR: at javax.swing.border.TitledBorder.getBorderInsets(Unknown Source)

I cant open the editor, and i found that in the log files
 
Jan 16, 2016 at 2:55 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
are... you using windows XP?
 
Jan 16, 2016 at 8:51 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 122
are... you using windows XP?
I am using XP Hone Edition (I usually use Windows 7) right now and I don't have any problem with this.
 
Jan 22, 2016 at 11:58 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
@MewtwoyDragonZombie http://www.minecraftforum.net/forum...solved-impossible-to-install-launch-minecraft

@ everyone else: new version is up https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/42853625/Permanent/BoostLab_0430.zip
I wrote that stupid TSC argument decoder (AND ITS BETTER THAN CE's) that you've been bitching at me forever for, along with a few other small fixes.
please test thanks
if you have any new Hackinator hacks that you'd like to be included, please link them below and I will post a 0.4.3.1 in a week or so.
 
Last edited:
Jan 22, 2016 at 12:27 PM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 122
I wrote that stupid TSC argument decoder (AND ITS BETTER THAN CE's)
Fuck yeah it's better than CE's! Love it, this is really, really, really useful when I'm working with 100 facepics and trying to animate them.
It's a welcome change, and about time. Thanks a lot. =)

Hacks? Infinite Booster Fuel. But for some reason it only gives me once boost trail and one boost sound and then it just looks like I'm some creepy floaty wizard.

P.S. The song called ["White"] is actually called White Stone Wall.
 
Last edited:
Jan 22, 2016 at 9:24 PM
Its dark in here
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Nov 21, 2013
Location: farther
Posts: 922
Age: 25
my mod doesn't load.

--edit--
my mod does load on .4.0.1
 
Last edited:
Jan 22, 2016 at 9:28 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
can you send me your log.0 file
 
Jan 22, 2016 at 9:28 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Aug 24, 2013
Location: 0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 208
@MewtwoyDragonZombie http://www.minecraftforum.net/forum...solved-impossible-to-install-launch-minecraft

@ everyone else: new version is up https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/42853625/Permanent/BoostLab_0430.zip
I wrote that stupid TSC argument decoder (AND ITS BETTER THAN CE's) that you've been bitching at me forever for, along with a few other small fixes.
please test thanks
if you have any new Hackinator hacks that you'd like to be included, please link them below and I will post a 0.4.3.1 in a week or so.
Aww yiss
facepic preview is great
I agree that IBF should be put in
 
Jan 22, 2016 at 10:58 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
well I was thinking more along the lines of updating Java would be more helpful, see my post previous to that
 
Jan 23, 2016 at 10:22 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 122
Quick suggestion for future versions:
Very often I have multiple entities stacked on top of each-other, and in Cave Editor when you click on a stack of entities it gives you a list of them and you click which one you want to select.
In Booster's Lab it just gives you the one you put there first, which means I have to waste time individually moving the ones I don't want out of the way.
Please add some kind of stacked entity select.

P.S. Please add some kind of CTRL+Z, CTRL+Y feature in the script editor... I so easily just select a bunch of text and delete it by accident, and then I have to reset my TSC...
 
Last edited:
Jan 27, 2016 at 8:01 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jan 27, 2016
Location:
Posts: 2
Pardon me for asking, I'm sure that somewhere something like this exists, but is there any tutorial for how to use this? I'm trying to edit cave story, and I can figure out how to place tiles and enemies, but is there any way to:
Delete cutscenes
Make cutscenes
Change door destinations and
Insert my own music made in orgmaker?
I'm sorry if this question is redundant, but I'm really quite new to editing games.
 
Jan 27, 2016 at 8:10 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Aug 24, 2013
Location: 0xDEADBEEF
Posts: 208
Pardon me for asking, I'm sure that somewhere something like this exists, but is there any tutorial for how to use this? I'm trying to edit cave story, and I can figure out how to place tiles and enemies, but is there any way to:
Delete cutscenes
Make cutscenes
Change door destinations and
Insert my own music made in orgmaker?
I'm sorry if this question is redundant, but I'm really quite new to editing games.

Everything but a guide to using BL is here, but BL itself has a help guide accessible with the "Help" option at the top

edit: also check out hacking/modding guides under here
 
Jan 27, 2016 at 9:23 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
note: the BL built-in guides are somewhat incomplete
 
Top