Why does my Quote look like a squirrel?

Jan 3, 2013 at 6:14 PM
"Fresh from the Bakery"
I'm new to Cave Story and I got something to wonder.

Does anyone know why is my Quote black?

p162308-0-cavestoryquote.png

Actually, he looks like a squirrel. :cool: At the beginning of the game I expected that it'll turn out he's from a squirrel-like race - really. But then I noticed, all sources depict him as a white human-like boy. And I've never seen any other screenshots on the net where he looks like a brown squirrel as above.

Also, why is there Christmas everywhere? The entire game is full of Christmas trees and decorations and all, even at places where they look odd - for example, why would they decorate a cavern which is only inhabited by wildlife (bats, critters, etc.)?

Jan 3, 2013 at 6:28 PM
Indie game enthusiast
"What is a man!? A miserable pile of secrets! But enough talk, have at you!"
Oh my... I suppose they didn't account for first time players during holiday events.
You see Unnamed, a few seasonal graphics changes were made over the years as a bonus to the fans.

If you go to your options menu in the title screen of a windows version of Cave Story+, you can enable or disable the seasonal sprites.
I think he's supposed to be Quote the Red Nosed Reindeer xD Black because he has fur... [I would like to see fan art of a fuzzy Reindeer Quote xD]

Jan 3, 2013 at 10:04 PM
A Reluctant Balrog's Waifu
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Ugh. It's christmas themed because it's still technically the holiday period (post new-year's). It's for fun. Around halloween time, the entire game changes to a halloween theme as well.

Quote isn't a squirrel, he's a reindeer.

If you don't like it, you can turn it off in the options.

Jan 3, 2013 at 10:06 PM
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Oh... you know I was actually disappointed when it turned out he's not a cute squirrel. :p