Limit on Max HP?

Sep 28, 2013 at 8:15 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
Is there a way to remove the limit on max HP (9999), so it can go up to 4,294,967,295 (the max number in an unsigned Dword integer)?

And is it possible to turn current HP from a word (up to 65,535) to a Dword (4,294,967,295)?
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 8:19 PM
The Tortoise. Slow, yet (questionably) steady.
Modding Community Discord Admin
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 1036
Age: 24
May I ask why you would ever need over 1000 Hp in any save and/or Mod?
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 8:33 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
Well, the first boss in my side-hack does 200 damage. So...
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 9:16 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 84
Age: 25
Samario said:
Well, the first boss in my side-hack does 200 damage. So...
Try to scale things a lot smaller, there's no reason to have outrageous numbers unless you actually use every value from 1 to 200 in a balanced way.
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 9:24 PM
The Tortoise. Slow, yet (questionably) steady.
Modding Community Discord Admin
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 1036
Age: 24
EDIT: Ninja'd
Why that high though?

Having 50 health against a 10 damage boss is the same as having 1000 health against a 200 damage boss. In each you would die after 5 hits (excluding the aspect of picking up hearts).

Unless you wanted hearts from enemy drops to be a very minimal ratio to prevent quick recoveries, I fail to acknowledge any use for damage/health to be multiplied that high.
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 10:23 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
Because it's supposed to be ridiculously high. Why not?! (it's slightly FF7 inspired too)
 
Sep 28, 2013 at 11:15 PM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 30
FF7 had a hp cap of 9999, you know.

Going from short -> int (dword) would require hacking all functions that used hp, so I don't think that's a smart idea. Also you really don't want it to be unsigned, since you'll run into rollover issues when you take more damage than you have to give (like, if you had 5 hp and you took 10 damage, suddenly you'd have 65k hp or so).

And perhaps a lesser issue given the above, but you'd also have to hack the number displaying functions to display values past 9999 (display more than 4 digits or whatnot).
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 2:20 AM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1190
Age: 28
Working with larger numbers is always a bad idea. You risk power creep which is a whole nother topic, and the larger the numbers are the harder it is for the player to keep track of things. Paper mario rpgs are the best example of this where the most damage you can take from an attack is 10. There just 1 digit of attack power is significant and exciting. But going from 1500 to 1600 is Meh. You would have a lot more luck with lower numbers and your mod would in all honesty be worse with the super big ones.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 2:43 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 30
HyMyNameIsMatt said:
Working with larger numbers is always a bad idea.
I really hate when you talk with absolutes. Especially because this isn't true, and is more of a matter of opinion than anything else. Games with larger HP values allow for more precision in attack and balance values, and 1600 isn't much compared to 1500 because it's less than 10% different, not because of those extra 0's. I'd feel the same way about 16 and 15.

But really this is just your opinion, so don't go spouting it like it's fucking fact.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:26 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
Think of it this way. If you get hit AT ALL, your weapon goes down to Lv.1, 0 XP, so it's kinda balanced.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:29 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
that sounds like the opposite of balanced
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:30 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
Until I can assembly to scale it to make sense with [starting with] 400 HP, then it will be that way.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:45 AM
Been here way too long...
Discord Group Admin
Org Discord Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
Location:
Posts: 2334
You're making two extremely incorrect assumptions here:
The max HP limit is not 9999, it's 255.
The max HP limit, therefore, is contained in a byte, and not a dword.
The amount of work you'd have to put in to achieve what you want is so astronomically large that you should honestly not even bother trying.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:48 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
well technically yes the HP is contained in a word
but there are checks and balances in place to cap it at 255 or w/e, so trying to go past that leads to some side-effects
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 8:54 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
p173946-0-ahgwtf3.png

Explain.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 9:08 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Sep 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 190
Age: 26
Samario said:
A Trainer or this is done in Cave editor.(Changing hp points)
If you get hit enough to where it goes to 255, it won't go back up to 9999 when your health is refilled.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 9:13 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
I had 25 / 303 HP, used a life pot, and went up to 303. Explain. (also, the max HP is 32767, I looked it up)

EDIT: trainers only go to 255
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 9:32 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Sep 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 190
Age: 26
knuckles5577 said:
or this is done in Cave editor.(Changing hp points)
If you get hit enough to where it goes to 255, it won't go back up to 9999 when your health is refilled.
Samario said:
I had 25 / 303 HP, used a life pot, and went up to 303. Explain. (also, the max HP is 32767, I looked it up)
EDIT: trainers only go to 255
You didn't comment what I said about Cave Editor did you? Cave Editor can edit your health like that and It's not a trainer.
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 9:33 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Aug 28, 2013
Location: Somewhere in the Seal Chamber
Posts: 55
Age: 31
I had <ML+9999<ML+9999 to get to that. OK?
 
Sep 29, 2013 at 9:35 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Sep 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 190
Age: 26
Samario said:
I had <ML+9999<ML+9999 to get to that. OK?
Exactly, It was done in cave editor.

Hidden text highlight (or click) to view:

This was a waste of time. Mods should delete this thread.

 
Top