General Secrets Question

May 11, 2014 at 10:52 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Hi guys, newbie here.

I love Cave Story (only discovered it this year) but I've been told that there's a lot of hidden depth to the game that first time players are likely missing. I've tried looking at a few guides and it becomes immediately obvious that I'm clearly ignorant about a lot in the game.

So I thought I'd ask a fairly open-ended question about the secrets in the game. So far, in my first playthrough I pretty much did the bare minimum. Got 4 (I think) of the main weapons. And then stupidly said 'yes' to escape with that guy on the dragon. End of game.

Now on my second playthrough (3DS version), I've got all of the weapons I think (5). Item-wise, I've got the turbocharge, the arms barrier, the booster v0.8, the air tank.
I've now said 'no' to escaping on the dragon and I'm in the plantation area. So general question. What else is there to get/do? What have I missed?

Thanks in advance for tolerating such a vague and poorly constructed question

May 11, 2014 at 11:17 PM
Indie game enthusiast
"What is a man!? A miserable pile of secrets! But enough talk, have at you!"
At that point I'd keep playing through to the very end as you are.
But, after you beat it... (sorta vague spoilers ahead)
There are different weapons, and ending changing items you could get for a final playthrough.

On the final playthrough, I might say... keep the Polar Star, save Professor Booster, save your friend, solve graveyard mysteries, turn yourself in if you've stolen anything, and...

gather lipstick, pantsu, and cosplay outfit for a spectacular finale
Make it to the secret final cave.

May 11, 2014 at 11:38 PM
Giving it my all and shooting for the moon.
Modding Community Discord Admin
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
You seem to have gotten the "Bad ending" on your first run through.