Need a little help

Dec 1, 2005 at 1:45 AM
"Fresh from the Bakery"
I just saw one of thsoe speedruns of hell and wow..how'd they even get through let alone so fast?!

I can't even finish the level sadly, iv'e tried uncountable times :( is there something im doing wrong? I even downloaded a saved game with whimsy star and spur plus all the health capsules, but still I can only get to heavy press and by then I only have 2-3 HP.

Is there a trick to this or cheats that work? I couldn't figure out the hex editing and there was a cheat program on cave story uploads, but it wasn't translated and I couldn't get it working.

Dec 1, 2005 at 3:26 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Cheaters never win :(
Anyway, I don't know of any cheats or tricks. Persistence is all I can reccomend. Practice practice practice. You'll get it eventually if you keep at it. It took me weeks.

Dec 1, 2005 at 4:14 AM
"Fresh from the Bakery"
I'm not very good at games, and my strategies aren't very good... I just try for minimum, for the sake of unlocking information and plot. I'm sure there are MUCH better ideas from better players...however, this is how -I- survive Hell.

The most important thing to do is to take it slow. Speedruns are deceptive, and watching them is a misleading way to learn the stage. The reason the players in those stages can fly past so quickly is because they know the stage like the back of their hand...which is something that comes from taking it slowly many, many, many times beforehand.