Jan 29, 2013 at 11:26 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
The most efficient way is to destroy the title screen and use the assembly hack to create an entirely new title screen
Maybe I can find the code, gimme a sec

E: I don't know if this is the right thread/the thread I used but it should help a bit.
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 11:52 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Dec 6, 2012
Location: Edolas
Posts: 40
Hey everyone. I've been in my little cave modding and having a major problem.
Whenever I change the sprites into BMP files and go to cave editor it says.... "Error Writing to File!" And it wont save any of my work....
Please help! :muscledoc:
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 1:09 PM
hi hi
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Oct 17, 2011
Location: probably somewhere else
Posts: 1073
Age: 25
Turn the 'Read Only' box off in properties...
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 1:57 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Dec 6, 2012
Location: Edolas
Posts: 40
THANK YOU!!!! I CAN'T BELIEVE I FORGOT THAT!!!!!
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 7:14 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Oct 29, 2012
Location: England
Posts: 178
Age: 24
What is the maximum size you can make a tileset?
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 7:20 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
256x256
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 7:27 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Oct 29, 2012
Location: England
Posts: 178
Age: 24
You don't need to change the transparency color. Just open the color black with ms paints "edit colors" option, turn the slider on the right up just a tiiiiiiiiinnnnnnyyyyy bit ( So It looks JUST like pure black but isn't) And then use it for the parts of the tileset that are supposed to use pure black but no transparency.
Thanks!
 
Jan 30, 2013 at 8:29 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
To not screw up existing tilesets it's better to extend downward instead of to the right, otherwise existing maps will look really weird.
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 4:33 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2012
Location: In a volcano
Posts: 6
Age: 20
When I make a map using SW and script it and make it my start point, when I go to cave story and select "New" My whole screen freezes. Is there a solution to this??!!
(Just so you'd know, SW is version 3A)
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 4:52 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
step 1. post modding questions in the modding questions thread

step 2. don't use SW

step 3. add a <FAI to the event that runs on startup
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 8:30 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 32

3A is the correct version of Sue's Workshop that you should be using. I remember 3C is only for non-PBMs.



I thought I did this successfully once. Depending on whether or not you have erased the #0200 or changed that event to something else, <FAI may or may not be present. Anyway, try to keep the start point where it is. If you need to move the player to the 95th map or so, then you should try TSC. Use TSC and just <TRA the player into the correct map from the regular start point, then fade in using that map's initial event, activated by the <TRA. You could also hack the game's executable file, but if you can do that, then you don't need Sue's Workshop.



I would avoid modding until you read Noxid's TSC guide in full. Make sure you understand every word of it, even if you have to draw diagrams of the TSC code to help yourself remember everything.
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 12:12 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
thanks for saying half the things I said with 80x as many words
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 4:33 PM
Professional Whatever
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
Location: Lasagna
Posts: 4485
Carrotlord said:
Make sure you understand every word of it, even if you have to draw diagrams of the TSC code to help yourself remember everything.
Dear god you expect them to be masters at TSC before they even start?
There's a little thing they need called hands-on experience
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 7:20 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 22, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35
Is it possible to force drown(without assembly hacking)? I mean, without the air counter counting down.
So that you can force drown the player, then have the core drown script activate and go to another event?
I wish it could be like being hit by a certain enemy, instead of taking damage, force drown script.

Also, how do I get Basu to work correctly?
I'm trying to make a mod where you boss fight the common enemies in appearance order.
I can't get Basu to work correctly, help? :confused:
Here's the file if it helps solving the problem: http://www.mediafire.com/?uobxy4b54adb5ly
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 7:31 PM
hi hi
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Oct 17, 2011
Location: probably somewhere else
Posts: 1073
Age: 25
You can do that using H/V triggers which launch the drown script, I think. Or give an NPC a 'Run Script on contact' flag, make the event and if you touch it, the event takes place.

The Basu works like the vertical trigger: if you cross NPC's X position, he appears several blocks further, away from player's sight, and attacks.

I hope I understood the question
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 7:42 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jan 22, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35
Thanks for your reply, but still I didn't quite get that. :koron:
How do I give Curly's projectiles a "run script on contact flag", I don't see it in the edit NPC.tbl section.
Also, what does Option1 and Option2 in the flags do?
I noticed some of the Basus in Egg Corridor have the flag (Option2).
Does the Homing Beetle and Basu work differently?
Because when the entity is a Homing Beetle, it works, when it's Basu, it doesn't. Help :confused:
 
Feb 1, 2013 at 7:52 PM
hi hi
"What're YOU lookin' at?"
Join Date: Oct 17, 2011
Location: probably somewhere else
Posts: 1073
Age: 25
Oh, you want that for projectiles... I don't know how to do that.

Option 1 - run script on contact

Option 2 - change the direction NPC is facing to right (sometimes it is used to change properties of NPCs, like Pot changes its texture)

Option 2 for Basus makes them appear from left, not right, like usual.
 
Feb 2, 2013 at 11:51 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Oct 29, 2012
Location: England
Posts: 178
Age: 24
Is there any way to make the camera fixed?
 
Feb 2, 2013 at 12:02 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
you could set a null entity to be the focus point and then use <FON
 
Feb 2, 2013 at 12:50 PM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Oct 29, 2012
Location: England
Posts: 178
Age: 24
you could set a null entity to be the focus point and then use <FON


Thanks, this is going to help a lot.
 
Top