JavaScript Problems

Nov 19, 2012 at 1:18 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
I am pretty sure that I posted about this before.

However, this bug has still not been fixed.

Look at this text:
Code:
Javascript is a language based off of LeafScript. Or perhaps not.
It is the weirdest language in the world.
Javascript is dynamically typed.
It has Java and C++ syntax.
The structure of the language is similar to Lisp, Scheme, and Logo.
It has closures like Python.
It has objects and no classes.

Now let me type: Javascript.
The S is automatically lowercased.

Why?
This doesn't happen with CaveStory, CurlyBrace, ECMAScript, ManaScript, or ThisIsAPeanutButterJellySandwich.
Typing in Java-Script with no hyphen should not destroy the capital S. The correct way to spell Java Script is with a big S.
 
Nov 19, 2012 at 2:41 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 31
If I had to guess this might be a way to prevent posts from injecting JavaScript codes/scripts into their posts or something.
 
Nov 19, 2012 at 2:42 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Jul 11, 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 90
I looked at the IP.Board Bug Tracker (filtered for version 3.3.4 to match our fourm's version), but didn't see anything there that matched. Maybe we should post something there?

It looks like it only keeps the case of the J and lowercases the rest of the word

jAvAsCrIpT -> javascript
JaVaScRiPt -> Javascript​

If you use the basic edit mode, you'll also see the a's are changed to a

JavaScript -> Javascript​

If you use the basic editor, you can force the word to look the way you want by putting something like [b][/b] in the middle of the word.

Java[b][/b]Script -> JavaScript​

However, be aware this will prevent your web browser's Find command from finding the entire word. (It will consider each part split by the [b][/b] as a seperate word.) I used this trick to make this post.

(I do find it slightly disturbing when the forum software decides to change words behind my back. I wonder what else it changes that we haven't found yet.)
 
Nov 19, 2012 at 3:57 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
It probably censors a lot of things, just like in 1984.

Also, it's easy to inject Java.Script into IPBoard. Doing it with vBulletin would be much harder.

Code:
# Injector.py
# A Python file that injects Java-Script directly into a website.

import jsinject

def inject(javascriptCode, website):
someObject = jsinject.setTarget(website)
someObject.inject(javascriptCode, "This is some text used as a marker.", {"offset": "+6"})

inject("<br /><script type=\"text/javascript\">document.write(\"This post was published on \" + Date());</script>",
"http://www.cavestory.org/forums/threads/javascript-problems.4461/")

This is some text used as a marker.
This post was published on Sun Nov 18 2012 19:56:18 GMT-0800 (Pacific Standard Time)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Nov 19, 2012 at 6:26 AM
http://imgur.com/EuvCtsQ
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: May 2, 2010
Location: beverly hills is where i WANT to be
Posts: 743
Age: 29
Nov 19, 2012 at 6:44 AM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Join Date: Jan 28, 2010
Location: Internet
Posts: 1369
Age: 34
Yes. It's important to me that no words are censored on this forum unless
it is done by the hands of andwhyisit, DoubleThink, GIR, Noxid, or another official staff member who isn't Meta (* cough *).

JavaScript is an important language and it should be spelled correctly.
It is very suspicious that only this particular word gets reformatted.
 
Nov 19, 2012 at 10:53 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6210
Age: 38
Anyhow it seems this issue is fixed in IPB v3.4.0. I know this because the support forums always use the most current beta of IPB.

It's likely an extension of the expression bug.
 
Top