Heads Up! Forum is Moving to New Server

Dec 21, 2008 at 5:17 PM
Visitor From the Past...
Forum Founder
"..."
This is more of an "informal" announcement than anything else, just to give a heads up for what the plan is currently for the forums. I've decided to find a cheaper solution to hosting since I've been paying around $25 a month for several years now. I finally managed to knock that price down substantially and for a much better deal that will offer more for the money.

Anywhyisit has notified me of how bad things have gotten with the spam-bot situation here and proposed the only real viable solution to get rid of them:

Upgrading vBulletin to a new version, with newer features and improved CAPTCHA security.

For those that do not know, our forum runs on a vBulletin which is not free software. You have to purchase an annual license in order to upkeep the forum. So far this forum license has yet to be renewed since 2004. Andwhyisit has decided to finance the upgrade of this forum completely by himself, so you all should be very thankful for his generosity.

In regards to that and the wonderful job he's done with the site and forum, I felt that it is only right that he be an administrator here. After we get the new forum setup on the new server, I will set it up so that he is both an administrator of the Cave Story tribute site and forum.

I'm in the process of moving everything over bit-by-bit, so I'll keep everyone posted on the current situation. In addition, we'll have to spend some time to look through the old database at obvious spam-bot members and delete them out of the database. We'll most likely have to close the forums for about a day when we are finally ready to move the most recent copy of the forum database over. I'll give a 24 hour notice before that happens.

-SkyeWelse

Dec 21, 2008 at 9:28 PM
Visitor From the Past...
Forum Founder
"..."