Connorses's Hopelessly Ambitious Inspiration to Become a Modder

Aug 18, 2013 at 9:51 AM
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Now, I've been programming in Java for some time now, in fact I started making an engine for a platform game using a program called Processing recently. I also like making art and music and such... I was looking through these threads and thinking how much fun it would be to try and make my own little RPG game by modding Cave Story. I was inspired by all the stuff people made here and also that little Pixelin game demo.

Now, while I know a fair amount about what makes games tick but I've never used any of these modding tools before, so at this point I don't know if my idea will be a huge success or a half baked failure. And just so you guys know I may even put it on "indefinite hiatus" in favor of my other project. But who knows? Maybe it'll be really cool. You have to start somewhere after all... I'm mostly making this thread so I can keep a log of what I learn in regards to modding, and in the event that I actually accomplish something this little thread will get to document it. Hurray. X3

So, I plan to make an original story and I want to make some maps from scratch, and I have a good idea of what the plot is. It will still be on some sort of floating island, however, and there will of course be plenty of references to Cave Story, and the story is partially inspired by a little game you may or may not have heard of called Samorost. It'll be not to long an' not to short.

On the other hand, I might totally be able to program it all myself and not need to mod anything. It would just be it's own game. WHO KNOWS.

TL;DR ~ I'm not sure if I'm going to follow through with it yet, but I want to look into making a CS mod with an original story and maps. I will keep track of what I'm learning about modding in this thread

Aug 18, 2013 at 11:17 AM
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
I know what it is...
You want to make a 2x res mod.