Cave Story Mac Save File Transfer

Aug 26, 2012 at 5:45 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
I've been playing Cave Story, and in my save I've gotten to the Outer Wall, but I realized I didn't properly save Curly and drain her. I don't really want to play through the entire game again, so I've gotten a save file that is nearby the core room battle with the machine gun. Problem is though, is that it is a Window's save and doesn't really work on the Mac I'm playing on. I'm a bit of a noob with computers, so I can't really figure out how to use the Python save converter. If anyone knows how to get a save file working on Mac, or knows how to use the converter, please tell me.

Aug 26, 2012 at 6:03 PM
Not anymore
"Run, rabbit run. Dig that hole, forget the sun."
Because Celtic Minstrel is very generous and wants all his users to learn Python, it turns out the Python Save Converter doesn't actually convert anything.

To fix this, put the following code at the end of csc_convert.py (edit it with IDLE or something):
Code:
convert("Profile.dat", "MacFile.dat")

And double click csc_convert.py to run it.

Aug 26, 2012 at 8:29 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
I added it onto the end of csc_convert.py. I assume I need to rename the save file to Profile.dat for it to actually find the file, so I did, and it looks like it did, but when I place it into the preferences and rename it to com.nakiwo.Doukutu.plist and when I run the game it starts me off at the beginning of the game. Am I missing something big here?

Aug 26, 2012 at 9:07 PM
Not anymore
Are you sure you did this?

Code:
convert("Profile.dat", "com.nakiwo.Doukutu.plist")

Also, don't save back to the same file Profile.dat or that could cause issues.

Aug 26, 2012 at 10:58 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"