Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Oct 23, 2014 at 10:50 PM
thinks dogs are cool
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Apr 6, 2014
Location: a bathroom
Posts: 620
what specifically are you talking about
 
Oct 23, 2014 at 11:14 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I think it's a problem with how Java handles coordinates of a maximized window. There isn't any real easy fix i'm aware of, besides keeping track of whether it was actually maximized and just re-maximizing it on reload.
 
Oct 23, 2014 at 11:23 PM
scrungy
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Oct 7, 2011
Location: PrtWeed
Posts: 773
Age: 22
Noxid said:
I think it's a problem with how Java handles coordinates of a maximized window. There isn't any real easy fix i'm aware of, besides keeping track of whether it was actually maximized and just re-maximizing it on reload.

Ah, that's a shame.
I can probably get accustomed to having a windowed BL eventually
 
Oct 24, 2014 at 12:09 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6206
Age: 37
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
The best thing to do is use Launch4j (http://launch4j.sourceforge.net/) since it does everything for you
Wrong. It doesn't run the online JRE installer, it instead directs you to a webpage to install it yourself manually. Not terribly practical.
 
Oct 24, 2014 at 1:02 AM
Lvl 1
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: May 28, 2008
Location: PMMM MMO
Posts: 3713
Age: 30
andwhyisit said:
Wrong. It doesn't run the online JRE installer, it instead directs you to a webpage to install it yourself manually. Not terribly practical.
Seems practical enough to me. Also, I think it also has the option to pack the JRE into the exe if you wanted to (but who would do that?).
 
Oct 24, 2014 at 3:00 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6206
Age: 37
GIRakaCHEEZER said:
Seems practical enough to me. Also, I think it also has the option to pack the JRE into the exe if you wanted to (but who would do that?).
That's even less practical. But I consider the website linking thing to be a terrible and utterly lazy solution when better options are available.

Just to clarify I'm directing that at the launcher developers rather than anyone that uses the launcher.
 
Dec 16, 2014 at 2:08 AM
thinks dogs are cool
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Apr 6, 2014
Location: a bathroom
Posts: 620
here's the thing noxid

A feature where, when you select anything having to do with an image, shows the image, whether it be a preview or not.
It could be in a separate window or in the same window as the selection screen. (You know, when you create a new map or in the script editor.)

(This conversation clears up what I was trying to say.)
[10:29:40 PM] GIR: http://www.cavestory.org/forums/posts/146801 spirit i love your new feature idea
[10:29:50 PM] GIR: and by love it i mean what the fuck are you trying to describe
[10:30:08 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: I really don't know
[10:30:17 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: it's like uh
[10:30:20 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: CE's thing?
[10:30:25 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: that doesn't explain it
[10:30:51 PM] GIR: yeah spirit you gotta explain it better
[10:30:52 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: http://i.imgur.com/OoMXXda.png this
[10:31:01 PM] GIR: idgi
[10:31:14 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: it uh
shows what number goes with which thing
[10:31:27 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: like AM+0001 gives you the Polar Star
[10:31:33 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: and it shows you
[10:31:35 PM] Spirit ¯\_(ツ)_/¯: what 0001 is
also:
Fix the minimum map number so that CS doesn't flip a shit when less than 94 maps are in it's database.
 
Dec 24, 2014 at 5:28 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Dec 10, 2013
Location: WashYourHandsingTon
Posts: 3
It'd be nice if the capitalization for files was corrected (data/Npc instead of data/npc, bkBlue.bmp instead of BkBlue.bmp) cause some operating systems care about that kind of stuff
 
Jan 3, 2015 at 10:23 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
ok, I've released a new version of BL that addresses some important problems. Namely:
- Added warning if TSC to load is newer than ScriptSource
- Added option to disable ScriptSource altogether
- Mapdata no longer auto-lowercase
- updated blConfig to include more options
- Possibly fixed the issue where changing the # of maps could cause the EXE to become nonfunctional
- Editor warns if EXE has been modified before overwriting

These fixes are mostly to save yourselves from using my program wrong. But some of them are actually useful.

You can download it from http://noxid.ca/files/BoostLab_0410.zip or https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/42853625/Permanent/BoostLab_0410.zip

Please inform me of any issues.
 
Jan 4, 2015 at 7:20 AM
thinks dogs are cool
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Apr 6, 2014
Location: a bathroom
Posts: 620
so it became apparent that even though I checked off "Use ScriptSource Files" it still used the scriptsource files
which is an issue because I just lost a whole event to it
 
Jan 4, 2015 at 12:45 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
did you not get a message saying the TSC was newer than the ScriptSource
 
Jan 4, 2015 at 1:57 PM
thinks dogs are cool
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Apr 6, 2014
Location: a bathroom
Posts: 620
I didn't receive any message of the sort
in fact I haven't had any non-manual (as in I didn't make it popup) popups at all
 
Jan 8, 2015 at 3:52 AM
Little Bitch in Sheep Clothing
"..."
Join Date: Nov 16, 2011
Location: New Zealand/ Thailand
Posts: 352
Age: 24
What version of Java is this supposed to run on?
I can't keep to open it.
 
Jan 8, 2015 at 3:54 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
I am pretty sure I built it compatible to 1.6
sometimes the launcher thing gets fucked up though, you could try making a .bat file with "java -jar BoostLab_XXXX.jar" [where XXXX is the version # you have obv] in it and see if that gets it to run
 
Jan 8, 2015 at 3:59 AM
Little Bitch in Sheep Clothing
"..."
Join Date: Nov 16, 2011
Location: New Zealand/ Thailand
Posts: 352
Age: 24

I ran the batch but it still didn't work.



EDIT:



Here is what the batch file coughed up:




Code:
D:\Games\Cave Story\BoostLab>java -jar BoostLab_0411.jar
Jan 08, 2015 10:59:55 AM java.util.prefs.WindowsPreferences <init>
WARNING: Could not open/create prefs root node Software\JavaSoft\Prefs at root 0
x80000002. Windows RegCreateKeyEx(...) returned error code 5.
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.NullPointerException
        at java.io.Reader.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at java.io.InputStreamReader.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at java.util.Scanner.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at ca.noxid.uiComponents.LicenseDialog.addComponentsToPane(LicenseDialog
.java:34)
        at ca.noxid.uiComponents.LicenseDialog.<init>(LicenseDialog.java:23)
        at ca.noxid.lab.EditorApp.getPrefs(EditorApp.java:363)
        at ca.noxid.lab.EditorApp.<init>(EditorApp.java:251)
        at ca.noxid.lab.EditorApp$34.run(EditorApp.java:1869)
        at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.access$400(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Sour
ce)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
D:\Games\Cave Story\BoostLab>pause
Press any key to continue . . .
 
Jan 8, 2015 at 4:13 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
fascinating
I looked up the error code, and I guess there's some kind of bug with newer versions of Java where they for some reason don't create the /software/javasoft/prefs key when you install them??
Truly bizzare. If you're familiar with RegEdit then as a workaround you can create that key yourself, and then the program will be able to populate values in it.
It might've also been fixed since you last installed Java. You could try a fresh install as well.
I'll have to figure out some better way to deal with this though.
 
Jan 8, 2015 at 12:07 PM
Little Bitch in Sheep Clothing
"..."
Join Date: Nov 16, 2011
Location: New Zealand/ Thailand
Posts: 352
Age: 24
Yeah, I edited the registry already. I'm going to try again later and see if it works.
Nope, it still doesn't work even after I created the Prefs key.


Edit: Nevermind, seems like it's the Booster Lab files that was somehow broken through dark magic. I reinstalled it and it worked.
 
Jan 9, 2015 at 10:37 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
Is anyone else having an issue with BL seemingly undoing maps to an older version?
I think it's related to the save-all button but I can't seem to repro consistently

e: nvm I figured it out
Uploading a fix in V0412
 
Jan 13, 2015 at 5:42 PM
Off-screen redemption arc
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Mar 28, 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 256
Age: 21
So, I found a problem with Booster's Lab. So once upon a time, I was fucking around with Booster's Lab, deleting maps I didn't need from my mod that I didn't backup. Then, when I tried running my mod, it said "[mod location] is not a valid Win32 application."


lik if u cri everitim
 
Top